Keycamp

8 Nov

A while back, the lovely PR people from Keycamp asked me if we’d like a free holiday.  Of course I said yes, I mean you’d have to be daft not to wouldn’t you?  Where would you like to go they said.  Somewhere in the Autumn half term, not too cold, accessible by public transport, near a beach and with interesting things to do, I said.  Don’t want much do I?

They suggested Vilanova Parc, in Spain.  Not too far from Barcelona, twenty minutes from the beach by the regular bus service, local markets, five pools, a  jumping pillow and a junior disco.  Perfect I said, and off we went.

It was exactly what it said on the tin.  Apart from the weather, which was unseasonably cold, a fact I can’t blame on Keycamp.  The accommodation was spotlessly clean, had three bedrooms, kitchen, bathroom, veranda, barbecue and a very welcome, welcome bottle of wine.  The Keycamp staff were cheerful, helpful and a constant source of swimming pool noodles, ping pong bats and snakes and ladders.  The parc was beautifully landscaped and maintained, had the advertised five pools, including, thankfully, one heated indoor one, two playgrounds, a restaurant at which we ate delicious rice with squid ink, and child friendly patatas bravas, a jumping pillow, a supermarket selling Dutch biscuits, and crazy golf.  Personally I think you can’t go wrong with crazy golf.

I’d never really stayed anywhere like that before.  I suppose it had similarities with some of the campsites in New Zealand and Australia, but they were a lot smaller.  This was as large as a small town, which meant I got lost a few times, but having an ATM, onsite medical help and a proper supermarket was something we never got in the Antipodes.  Mind you, in the Antipodes, we didn’t always have running water, but that’s another story.

The kids loved it and didn’t want to leave.  They made friends with other kids and sat swinging their legs on fences watching French boys smoking whilst playing football.  I can’t pretend I wasn’t faintly horrified, but that’s what holidays are all about when you are not quite a teenager.

And with the kids so busily occupied, I read three books in five days.  Result.

 

6 Responses to “Keycamp”

  1. Fiona Flores Watson 08/11/2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Please forgive my igorance, but what’s a jumping pillow?

    • Joan 07/12/2012 at 7:09 pm #

      It’s like a bouncy castle with no sides.

  2. Jill 08/11/2012 at 10:37 pm #

    Ooo lucky you! We went to key camp in France when my kids were little . Great fun and the kids loved it also good value I think. Glad you had a nice time

  3. What to Pack in Hospital Bag 29/11/2012 at 7:30 pm #

    I worked for a similar firm years back in Northern Italy and as a recentl first time dad I cant wait to take my family to a campsite in France or Italy. There is so much for the kids to do.

  4. LateBoat 26/02/2013 at 5:41 pm #

    Three books in five days sounds heavenly….wonder what I’ve got to do to get my kids to allow that 🙂

  5. India Cycling 04/07/2013 at 6:42 am #

    Ooo fortunate you! We went to key camping in Italy when my children were little . Excellent fun and the children liked it also excellent value I think. Grateful you had a awesome time

Leave a comment