The forecast is hot and sunny

26 Aug

Dickon on Waikiki Beach

I was asked the favourite place question again the other day.  Rain drops were chasing each other down the window in a race to the sill, the boys were sniffing and nose blowing, and we were all shivering slightly in a not put quite enough clothes on for the weather sort of way.  I gave my it’s hard to choose answer.  Then I looked out of the window, and it came to me.

We spent last winter on the beach.  From November to March we were in Hawaii, New Zealand and Australia.  We swam every week, usually every day.  Sometimes we swam in pools, sometimes rivers or lakes, but mostly we swam in the sea.  Clear, tropical, saltiness, as warm as bathwater.   Sometimes there were big waves to duck under and make us scream, sometimes there were little spotty fish and coral to marvel at through leaky masks, sometimes there were surfers wearing Santa hats.  Always it was warm.  I couldn’t choose just one, but my favourite place was the beach*.

______________________________________________________________________________________

* Disclaimer: I reserve the right to have a different favourite place next week. And the week after that.  And so on.

8 Responses to “The forecast is hot and sunny”

  1. Crystal Jigsaw 26/08/2011 at 10:13 pm #

    It sounds idyllic. And what a fabulous photo. Right now, I think some warm weather would be just perfect!

    CJ xx

  2. nmaha 27/08/2011 at 6:47 pm #

    Sounds like the perfect choice.

  3. Rachel Withey 02/09/2011 at 9:31 am #

    Hi. Found your site while looking for info on travelling with children. I remember you from the NSPCC. Your trip sounds amazing; will be back to read more. Rachel

  4. Kelly 09/09/2011 at 1:33 pm #

    Now you are back I had hoped you would stop making me jealous with your tales and pictures. Now I want to float about in the sea. I took Piran to the beach last week. He was afraid to stand on sand barefoot and point blank refused to go near the sea. I am wondering if he really is related to me at all!

  5. Kerri @ Baby Monitors Online 26/09/2011 at 12:28 pm #

    All this talk about hot weather and holidays is making me jealous! 😉

    I’m the same as you, I don’t really have a favourite place but the beach is always the best place to relax and take in the sunshine.

  6. expatmammy 02/10/2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Wow sooooooo jealous, I bet it was the most amazing trip ever and what an experience for your children.x

  7. Sam 11/02/2012 at 10:10 pm #

    I love the fact that you have taken time out to share your experience with us, I have home-schooled my son for 15 years and really wish we had found the courage to do some trips like you did, well done you and thanks for sharing, x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 12/02/2012 at 3:06 pm #

      Thank you, I enjoy writing about it, it’s a great record for me and my family.

Leave a Reply

