So, what was your best bit?

21 Aug

Another beautiful beach in Hawaii

Invariably the question is asked: “What was your highlight?”  The first few times I was so jet lagged and so overwhelmed that I didn’t really answer.  Now I’ve got a reply: “It’s impossible to choose one or even two highlights.  You can’t compare one place to another and there were so many amazing things.”  Dull but true, and I’m wary of boring people rigid with travellers tales.  At least until I have a sheaf of photos to go with them.

When I say I can’t choose, it’s true.  How can you compare building sandcastles next to a turtle, with a day spent in Te Papa, the finest museum in the world?  The thing is, in nine months you can do really quite a lot of amazing-once-in-a-lifetime-stuff.

We’ve ridden elephants: huge, gentle, bristly creatures who can’t get enough bananas.  We’ve flown in a helicopter to the top of a mountain so we could throw snowballs in summer.  We’ve swum in swift, muddy rivers, under powerful, thundering waterfalls and in tiny secluded coves with black spiky sea urchins and little spotty pufferfish.  We’ve slept on a beach with shy kangaroos and the Southern Cross for company, in a jungle hut which we shared with a large and rather noisy lizard, and in a flat above a junk shop in one of Sydney’s coolest streets.

Now that we’ve kicked jet lag’s bum, and are home and unpacked, kind of, I’m starting to realise quite how incredible the last nine months have been.  Give me a few more months and I might be able to choose a best bit.  But I doubt it.

12 Responses to “So, what was your best bit?”

  1. Chris Mosler 21/08/2011 at 6:43 pm #

    I want to sit down with a bottle of wine and those photos and hear the whole story, good, bad and bloody fantastic. x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/08/2011 at 6:58 pm #

      Name your date!

  2. Goodynuffmum 21/08/2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Sounds amazing, all of it. Will the blog continue?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/08/2011 at 6:57 pm #

      As long as I’ve got things I want to say about the trip, and I’ve still got a few things I want to say, then yes. After that, I don’t know.

  3. Millie 22/08/2011 at 5:59 am #

    Hey you, so glad you’re home safe. We’re back next week, dying to catch up…..will call you for a coffee!xxx

  4. Lucinda harding rolls 22/08/2011 at 8:49 am #

    Great to have you back and looking forward to hearing all about it – we are back in London after the Bank Holiday so will look forward to catching up with you then.
    L, S & T xx

  5. nmaha 22/08/2011 at 5:02 pm #

    Wow! I can’t believe you actually did it. Welcome back.

  6. Kerry 22/08/2011 at 8:10 pm #

    It just sounds all amazing and it was lovely to read all about it what an experience for all of you one that everyone will cherish forever xx

  7. English Mum (@EnglishMum) 24/08/2011 at 8:34 am #

    Welcome home! I’ve love love loved being invited along on your wonderful journey. Thank you so much for sharing it with us xx

  8. Mañana Mama 25/08/2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Wow! What a wonderful adventure and what lucky kids! Good on you for following your wanderlust, kids and all. Makes me tempted to hit the open road again…

    Just popped over from ITPR by the way 🙂

  9. philippa hodson 26/08/2011 at 8:52 pm #

    You write so evocatively it makes it sound amazing and incredibly inspiring. Which I’m sure it was. Welcome back, I hope it is good to be back home safe and sound, if a little wet, and that the lack of excitement is matched by the comfort of your own things. xx

  10. Trish@ Mum's Gone to 03/09/2011 at 9:35 am #

    I’m so glad Linda has featured your trip, and this post, in her round-up on Have a Lovely Time. It deserves a wider audience.
    What fantastic experiences and memories!

Leave a Reply

