A short list of things I’ve learnt this week

25 Jun
  1. There’s a Thai general election next week.  Party No. 1 is offering free wifi.  They’ve got my vote.
  2. Public transport in Prachuap Khiri Khan consists of a motorbike with side car arrangement, useful for carrying both fish and people.  It’s called a sahm leng.  For the record, it is possible to fit a family of five and their luggage in one.
  3. You are not allowed to do any political campaigning on a military base.
  4. No one can ever change a 1,000 Baht note except for 7 Eleven.
  5. Doctors are very cheap in Thailand.  A trip to casualty including X-rays and a course of antibiotics cost £13.
  6. Prachuap Khiri Khan civil servants wear Hawaiian shirts with a pineapple motif.  Because Prachuap is famous for pineapples, obviously.
2 Responses to “A short list of things I’ve learnt this week”

  1. Cindy 25/06/2011 at 11:20 pm #

    Thanks for the sharing the things you’ve learned this week, I’ve heard that cost of living in Thai is really low even compared to other countries in the Southeast Asia, I wish, I can some lessons of my own from this place soon. My last trip is have been from Hawaii, me and my hubby should have took a stop in here or Bali.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/06/2011 at 3:21 pm #

      Yes, Thailand is VERY cheap indeed. We like!

Leave a Reply

