Sailomjoy

16 May

We’ve been away from home  for more than six months, almost thirty weeks.  Six months of never staying anywhere longer than two weeks, with most rooms only being home for a few days.  We’ve done different things every single day, and rarely eaten in the same place twice.

It’s may not be the most exciting place.  But after over six months of perpetual motion, it’s nice to have somewhere to return to again and again.  Last week we were in Chiang Mai.  Just down the end of our lane, and across the busy road is Sailomjoy, open for breakfast and lunch.  They serve a range of travellers standards; banana pancakes, porridge, mango shakes, spaghetti bolognese.  Useful for children who are fed up with rice. They also do Thai staples, like papaya salad, that tastes like it’s supposed to, and real coffee.  It’s clean and tidy and the staff are friendly. That’s pretty much the pinnacle of my ambitions.

Oddly, Ned moaned every time we went back after our first visit.  He liked the food but thought we should be trying something new.  I, on the other hand, loved having somewhere familiar to go, if only for a week.

At the end of this week, we’re heading back to Chaing Mai for a couple of days.  I know where we’ll be having breakfast.

3 Responses to “Sailomjoy”

  1. Sarah 17/05/2011 at 2:45 am #

    I have to say I’ve been lurking on this blog for a bit and I just had to give you kudos. I have three small children of my own and am bitten by the wanderbug – making me desperate to travel but afraid I would pull my hair out taking them along! Your blog gives me the inspiration. 🙂

  2. fourgotospain 17/05/2011 at 10:42 am #

    Isn’t it great when you find somewhere that suits everybody! BTW I’m not on twitter *hangs head in shame* but I LOVE CM! Is he at Cabbages and Condoms??

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 17/05/2011 at 2:34 pm #

      Yes he is! He’s at the branch in Chiang Rai. Twitter can be fab, but it’s a stealer of time. Do you have an iPhone, and if so, are you on instagram? I’ve only just joined, but it’s fab for sharing photos.

Leave a Reply

