I miss TV

9 Apr

I’m a Sky + girl.  Back at home, I watch lots of TV and series link is my friend.  I’m not ashamed to admit that I’ll watch any old crap.  Or so I thought.  Since we’ve been away, TV is one of the very few things I’ve missed.  And before you get all outraged, I don’t categorise my friends and family as things.  I’ve missed you too, lots.

Since we’ve been away, the TV situation has been variable, to say the least.  Sharing a single room with children poses obvious problems, as when they’re awake and the TV’s on, they clutch the remote in their sticky little fingers, keeping the channel firmly on something loud and brightly coloured.  Sadly this rarely includes Glee.  And when they’re asleep, we can’t watch for fear of waking them.  Evenings in these places see us reading by torchlight or hanging out on the internet, wifi permitting, which is a whole other story.  I like the internet, I like it a lot.  But it’s not the same as watching TV.

Chatting to people on twitter just makes me jealous.  They’ll be happily discussing how X Factor Matt isn’t wearing his hat this week or Dorcas from Larkrise is being annoying again, and I can’t join in, however much I want to.  This week I was sent a copy of Heat by my brother and sister in law, and much as I’ve enjoyed learning about Jordan’s new boyfriend, I’m gutted that I’m missing a new show from the makers of Pineapple Dance Studios called ‘A Different Breed’, featuring a psychic pooch called Vinnie Jones.  Don’t get me wrong, I really enjoyed seeing the beautiful, intricate beadwork in the Peranakan museum yesterday, but a psychic pooch called Vinnie Jones?  It doesn’t get much better than that.

Sometimes we have separate rooms and also a TV, but invariably it’s been in places with three fuzzy channels with so little of interest on, even I can’t find something to watch.  And as we’ve established, I’m not terribly fussy.  Even though we stay in each country a long time, it’s impossible to get into a series, because we never know where we’ll be on any given night.  The only thing we’ve watched with any regularity is the new Hawaii Five-O, which is something I wouldn’t even consider at home.  But needs must.  And I can say, “we’ve been there” with annoying regularity.

So after five months I’ve cracked, and started buying stuff from iTunes.  The computer’s too slow for video, so I’m reduced to watching on my phone, with earphones.  It’s a bit antisocial, but works surprisingly well, especially as I’ve stuck to things I’ve already seen.  After five months without a reliable TV, I can’t tell you how lovely it is to giggle at Alison Steadman worrying about toast crumbs in Gavin and Stacey.  I’ve also invested in Pride and Prejudice so I can watch Colin Firth in his wet shirt and I’m considering The Good Life, because Tom and Barbara are appropriate in any setting.

Now all I need to do is find myself a Saturday Guardian…

5 Responses to “I miss TV”

  1. Chris Mosler 09/04/2011 at 3:11 pm #

    You MUST get The Good Life. Comfort viewing at it’s very best. I am so out of the loop with TV I have never watched Glee or Larkrise though I suspect I would like the latter very much. Perhaps I should follow your example.

  2. 21st century mummy 09/04/2011 at 5:12 pm #

    Nooooo! You’ve reminded me about Larkrise to Candleford. I loved it. Wonder if it will be out on boxset.

    I do by the occasional uk gossip mag from Borders here, when I need a fix.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/04/2011 at 8:45 am #

      It’s definitely out on boxset, I’ve seen it!

  3. Mummy Mania 09/04/2011 at 8:04 pm #

    ah, one can never tire of Colin Firth in a wet shirt…..

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/04/2011 at 8:46 am #

      That’s my thinking.

Leave a Reply

