Western Australia

6 Mar

It’s a place of vast emptiness.  Two hours drive between towns, when a town is a petrol station, population five.  The Great Northern Highway, cuts a narrow tarmac scar through the relentless red earth, rising to meet the huge, shimmering blue sky.  Lone gum trees, silver bark stained red, and windmills providing the only vertical lines.  Travelling through this landscape, unchanging day after day, has a hypnotic rhythm, the galloping miles a form of meditation.

I first came here twenty years ago and I’ve longed to return ever since.  The red earth, blue sky and total isolation have buzzed around my head like a pesky Aussie fly that I can’t shake.  There is nowhere on earth that is in greater contrast to teeming London.

Tomorrow morning we set off on our great Australian road trip.  Sixteen hundred kilometres through one of the world’s most starkly beautiful landscapes.  Just us, the road trains and the kangaroos.  I can’t wait.

3 Responses to “Western Australia”

  1. Kelly 06/03/2011 at 3:33 am #

    Wow, you make it sound so appealing, but I think I’d be freaked out a bit by that much space.

    I wonder quite how different it will be with a husband and three children as your traveling companions. Safe journey x

  2. TheMadHouse 06/03/2011 at 10:52 am #

    You know what I can not imagine it, I just can not get my head round the vastness of it all. Have a great time and enjoy camping

  3. Mummy Mania 06/03/2011 at 7:58 pm #

    what an adventure… lots of space for literary lingerings.

Leave a Reply

