A short list of things I’ve learnt this week

22 Jan

1) Jandals (Flip flops, remember? Keep up…) and wet floors are a dangerous and painful combination.

2) New Zealand has more bookshops per capita than anywhere else in the world.

3) Receiving a real, handwritten, letter that runs to several pages, is an absolutely pleasure.  Thank you Paula.

4) Stubbies were very short, tight, shorts for men, popular in New Zealand in the 70’s and 80’s.  I have no idea why they went out of fashion.

5) New Zealand produces a third of the world’s dairy products.  Really.

6) Oysters sleep.  And also wake, presumably.

7) Early Learning Centre has already produced royal wedding Happyland figures, including a little plastic, grey haired Queen.  I hope she likes it.

9 Responses to “A short list of things I’ve learnt this week”

  1. Little Brown Bird 23/01/2011 at 9:35 am #

    I bought the ELC Happyland Royal Family back in 2002, for the daughter of a British friend who had emigrated to Australia. It’s so cute isn’t it?

    http://tinyurl.com/67x2pjl

    It’s got a Queen, a Prince Phillip, a corgi, a Beefeater and a Coldstream Guard and a Prince Charles.

    Wish I’d bought one to keep!

    LBB x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 25/01/2011 at 9:27 am #

      I would LOVE a corgi. The royal wedding one has a carriage.

  2. Nickie@Typecast 23/01/2011 at 11:06 pm #

    I love your weekly round-ups (if I can call them that). And Paula is just amazing 🙂 Handwritten letters are few and far between these days.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 25/01/2011 at 9:21 am #

      They are repository for the random facts that don’t fit into any other posts. And yes, Paula is lovely.

  3. Rachel 24/01/2011 at 1:10 pm #

    I did not know that dairy stat – quite amazing. I did know the jandal/wet floor problem. Discovered that painfully dangerous combo myself recently on a very beautiful spanish tiled patio 😦 xxxx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 25/01/2011 at 9:24 am #

      Argh, those things should come with a health warning.

  4. Paula 27/01/2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Yoo hoo! You’re welcome on the scrawly letter, it was a joy to write. I imagined myself sat in a windswept cottage, writing by candlelight whilst watching the horizon for Mr Darcy to come galloping over the dunes. And are you bruised?

    xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/01/2011 at 9:03 pm #

      That was exactly how I felt when I read it. It was windy and rainy at the time.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/01/2011 at 9:23 pm #

      Not bruised but grazed. Ouch.

Leave a Reply

