Itch

26 Nov

I’m behind the wheel of the red Dodge.  The smallest car we could get.  A little ant next to the giant stag beetles of the other American cars.  Are you sure it’ll be big enough asked the rental company employee looking at our children.  Yes, in Europe it’d be considered quite big.

The towering pine forests of the Big Island’s North East coast create a dramatic canyon and it’s a beautiful road.  For once, it’s not so twisty that I can’t appreciate the scenery for fear of skidding at speed down a volanic ravine.

Except.  One of my dozens of mosquito bites suddenly makes itself known.  It’s on the ankle of my non-driving foot.  It’s as if a thousand tickly needles are working on my skin.  I am consumed with an overwhelming urge to scratch it.  But I can’t.  We’re travelling at 55 miles an hour, cars infront and behind.  I can’t reach my ankle without taking my eyes off the road.  The desire to scratch takes up all the space in my brain that is not taken up with driving.  The throbbing, crawling under my skin is torture.  Before long, my other bites start to itch and it’s all I can do to drive safely.  I start to fantasise about a dog sinking it’s teeth into my leg as a means of relieving the itching.

Eventually, twenty long miles later, we arrive and I park the car.  I scratch and scratch and scratch with both hands, eight fingers and two thumbs.  The relief is glorious.  I continue to scratch until it becomes painful, and then I scratch some more.  I’ve never been so happy to feel pain.  I’ve drawn blood,  but I don’t care.  Finally, I’m not itchy anymore. I can think about other things.

Until it all starts again.

_____________________________________________________________

One of the prompts for this week’s writing workshop at Sleep is for the Weak was ‘itch’.  It spoke to me.

5 Responses to “Itch”

  1. andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou 26/11/2010 at 9:20 pm #

    I really felt like I was with you then, having an itch and not being able to do anything about it! Awful such pain xxx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/11/2010 at 6:18 pm #

      Thank you!

  2. Emma 30/11/2010 at 6:34 am #

    Ah mossie bites, I just hate them! We had hundreds of them this year, I’m hoping they will get used to us and leave us alone in future. Worst was having Leo covered in them and him waking up all night trying to rip his arms and legs off to stop the itching.

    Make sure your repellent has ‘deet’ in it, everything else is not strong enough 😉

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/12/2010 at 7:43 pm #

      DEET is great, it’s just so evil. Next time they get really bad I will though, this has been tortuous!

  3. MummyT 05/12/2010 at 3:06 am #

    Crikey! Those sound like *savage* mossies. Antihistamine tablets (Piriton/cetirizine/similar) kill the itch, while you can either nuke them with Tiger Balm or soothe them with topical antihistamine (or something eucalyptus-based).

Leave a Reply

