A short list of things I’ve learnt this week

12 Nov

spam sushi

1. People really do drive monster trucks.

2. Getting sand in your bits hurts.

3. Teva sandals may look very ugly, but I’m told by my family that they’re both immensely comfortable and extremely practical.  Sadly my Birkenstocks aren’t cutting it.

4. It is possible to have snorkel envy.

5. The Hawaiian speed limit changes every mile or so.  This is very confusing.

6. Spam sushi is actually not as disgusting as it sounds.

7. It is impossible to buy a small tube of toothpaste in the United States, unless it’s a tiny travel sized one.

8. If you try and start the rental car with your foot on the accelerator, it doesn’t work.  Oops.

9. Curious facial hair and mullets are big in the USA.  I shall try and get pictures *looks stealthy*.

 

9 Responses to “A short list of things I’ve learnt this week”

  1. Liz@VioletPosy 12/11/2010 at 8:04 pm #

    Spam Sushi? My mind is boggling 🙂 Try Merrell sandals, they are very ugly but very, very comfortable and you can walk in the sea with them without ruining them or stepping on jellyfish. I can’t wait to see the facial hair photos!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 13/11/2010 at 4:42 am #

      That’s exactly the kind of sandal that I need, and what the others have. They’ve been brilliant and not a single complaint about comfort, even from the picky child.

  2. Kerry 12/11/2010 at 8:09 pm #

    How do you start the car then? Am I being thick? X

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 13/11/2010 at 4:41 am #

      You just turn the key and don’t put your foot anywhere near the gas pedal…

  3. GBK Gwyneth 12/11/2010 at 8:47 pm #

    I was going to recommend Keen sandals. I’ve had both Birks and Tevas, but have just fallen in love with my Keens…. http://www.keenfootwear.com/ !

    Spam is a huge delicacy in Okinawa, too. My husband went to a big dinner at his conference there, and they had Spam Pilaf as one of the entrees. It’s the influence of the US military, I’m sure. Note that the passengers on that stranded cruise ship were eating Spam and Pop-Tarts. (Ugh.)

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 13/11/2010 at 4:40 am #

      I’m guessing that Honolulu will be a good place to buy sandals. Spam is HUGE here, the supermarket had half an aisle! There are lots of Japanese people in Hawaii, so maybe there’s a link…

  4. TheMadHouse 14/11/2010 at 1:25 am #

    I am now have mad images in my head of American peeps eating spam fritters with mullets and guns

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 14/11/2010 at 5:06 pm #

      That’s pretty much what it’s like 😉

  5. Kelly 16/11/2010 at 3:35 pm #

    Sneaky mullet pictures are the best. Just bribe a small child with ice shavings to pose in front and snap away!

Leave a Reply

