I heart Disneyland

4 Nov

I’m not a huge fan of theme parks.  I’m not really a fan of organised fun of any kind.  I don’t like the crowds, or the piped music, or the overpriced, dodgy food, or the merchandising opportunities round every corner.

But I make an exception for Disney.  Maybe it’s because I have very happy childhood memories of Disneyworld.  Maybe it’s because of the utterly surreal attractions like The Enchanted Tiki Room.  Or maybe it’s the astonishing attention to detail.

I’ve never been any where quite like a Disney theme park.  No detail is too small to be overlooked.  From the staff members’ multifarious appropriate uniforms, a particular favourite being the lederhosen worn by the attendants at the Matterhorn bobsleigh ride, to the complete absence of any rubbish, and the staff sign in the ‘It’s a bugs’ world’ area which says “worker bees only”.  Nothing whatsoever spoils Walt Disney’s perfection.  Even dull legal notices are themed.  As they’d say here, it’s awesome.  If the folks at Disney put their minds to it, they could rule the world.

13 Responses to “I heart Disneyland”

  1. Emma 04/11/2010 at 4:38 am #

    One to take Leo to Disneyland, cos he’ll love it – see the things I’ll do for him, how nice am I 😉

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/11/2010 at 1:06 pm #

      You are utterly selfless 😉

  2. Erica 04/11/2010 at 9:16 am #

    Wish I was at Disneyworld right now.

    Glad you’re having a great time!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/11/2010 at 1:05 pm #

      Thanks!

  3. Liz@VioletPosy 04/11/2010 at 9:25 am #

    I love Disney just too much. The first time I went I was seven and I thought it was all real. Not sure that feeling has ever really left me even when we took L back last year for her first trip. The level of detail is just amazing there. Glad you all had such a great time and thanks for the photo of the ice cream sandwich! 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/11/2010 at 1:05 pm #

      I think we are Disney twins. I feel exactly the same. And the children have fallen in love too. The sign for the toilet door in bug’s land had a man and woman with little bug antennae. How cute is that!?

  4. jay 04/11/2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I ACHE to go to a Disney theme park; I’ve never been to one. Even just reading this post has made me stupidly excited for when we get to take our own Kidlets 😀

    So glad you’re enjoying! xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/11/2010 at 1:02 pm #

      You will LOVE it x

  5. Little Brown Bird 04/11/2010 at 12:46 pm #

    I love the Disney experience. First at 19, a visit to Disneyland. In my 20s to Disneyworld and then a second visit to Disneyworld and California Adventure in my 30s. It’s magical at any age.

    A bit Stepford but done so well.

    LBB (Big Kid) x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/11/2010 at 1:02 pm #

      Exactly, I feel a bit manipulated, but it doesn’t stop me loving it.

  6. Marina K. Villatoro 04/11/2010 at 3:04 pm #

    I love Disney! That’s all I can say.

  7. wendy powell 05/11/2010 at 2:14 pm #

    I completely agree too! We LOVED Disney. Visited last year with 2 & 4 year-old, planned for them being overwhelmed & exhausted after 2 hours… we left 10 hours later with the 2 happiest toddlers in the planet! *Jealous* 🙂

  8. Muddling Along 05/11/2010 at 4:15 pm #

    I really want to go to Disney now

    Glad you’re arrived at your first port of call all ok – have a wonderful time

Leave a Reply

