The hills are alive

12 Oct

So this week’s Gallery theme is ‘favourite photo’.  Every week someone moans about how hard the theme is.  Every week, I find it really easy to choose something.  But favourite photo, that’s properly hard.  How on earth am I supposed to pick just one photo?  I have thousands of them.  Literally.  I have bulging cupboards full of slides, prints and negatives.  I have have so many digital pictures my laptop threatened to explode, and they are now busy filling up a portable hard drive.  How on earth do I narrow it down?  It’s too hard.

So I’ve cheated.  I’ve chosen our favourite holiday, last summer in Switzerland.  Switzerland was like every cliche I’ve ever known.  In a good way.  It was perfect.  We climbed mountains, ate chocolate and swam in lakes.  We looked at the horizon.  And I took photos.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

16 Responses to “The hills are alive”

  1. eggscreamandhoney 12/10/2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Wow I had no idea Switzerland was so beautiful! Looks like a great holiday. Great photos too x

  2. missleslieanne 13/10/2010 at 8:52 am #

    Beautiful photos. Switzerland’s always been on my ‘to do’ list. Maybe we’ll take the little dude there one day.
    Also, had to re-read, as I thought for a moment you’d been swimming in a chocolate lake… like Willy Wonka’s. That would be amazing.

  3. Alethea 13/10/2010 at 10:06 am #

    All the pictures are really gorgeous! The one with the kids running together is so Sound of Music, fabulous!

  4. Nic's Notebook 13/10/2010 at 10:32 am #

    Oh amazing, I would love to go to Switzerland!

  5. London City Mum 13/10/2010 at 10:52 am #

    Now that brings back many memories for me as I lived in Switzerland for 5 years in the 70s.

    Love the cows – aren’t they so pretty?

    And the kids are gorgeous too!

    LCM x

  6. Trish@ Mum's Gone to 13/10/2010 at 11:22 am #

    Not been to Switzerland but have similar feelings when I look at our photos from Lake Garda last year.

    Wonder what your favourite photo will be this time next year? There’s a thought!

  7. him up north 13/10/2010 at 11:35 am #

    My favourite is the children on the grassy hillside with mountains in the background. That is brilliantly done, ma’am. They’re all superb. And not a cuckoo clock in sight!

  8. marisworld 13/10/2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Lovely photos and in agreeance with ‘him up north’ the children running in the field – very Heidi. We drove through Switzerland on olur way to Lake Garda this year and it was enchanting, we’ll be going back one day I’m sure

  9. christinemosler 13/10/2010 at 5:19 pm #

    Why are you not running, warbling in your wimple in that Hills are Alive shot? Gorgeous photos, looks fabulous!

  10. SeaThreePeeO 13/10/2010 at 5:24 pm #

    What a beautiful place and such great photos

  11. Jolene 13/10/2010 at 5:44 pm #

    I’m so glad you shared so many photos. They are gorgeous!

  12. keatsbabe 13/10/2010 at 6:23 pm #

    I want to go! You take wonderful photos!

  13. nudieprincess 13/10/2010 at 10:12 pm #

    These are the kind of photos I would love to take, if I could be bothered to learn to use my Camera…….
    Seriously, I’m so jealous of your talent and of your travels. Room for a little one (and a half) in someones bag? You should win the prize for this weeks Gallery, I know you won’t have entered your photos for that, but you should , anyway.

  14. Tilly 14/10/2010 at 6:44 pm #

    Great photos – love the cows. You cheated even more than I did!

  15. Dulwich Divorcee 15/10/2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Lovely photos – I’ve only ever seen Switzerland all snowy. Very Belle and Sebastian, if you’re old enough to remember that?!

  16. spudballoo 15/10/2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Ooooh that’s cheating. But then I cheated too so I’ll let ya off….

    just waiting to see Julie Andrews coming over the mountain….;-)

    Judge Spud xx

Leave a Reply

