Writing

5 Oct

I am sitting at my kitchen table, my ancient, and slightly sticky, laptop plugged into the wall.  The same position I have sat in countless times in the year and a half since I started this blog.  The kitchen floor is recently cleaned and smelling of lemon Flash.  This is not always the case.  I’m more likely to gingerly pick my way around the spilt Cheerios, in an effort to not crush them.  The door to the garden is open.  It’s not warm, and there are dark spots of rain dotting the deck, but I’m grateful it’s still Autumn, not Winter.  The neighbour’s Russian vine is a spectacular firey red and our tall, spindly eucalyptus is swaying gently in the wind.

My laptop shares table space with an eclectic variety of objects.  Some fruit I bought earlier and haven’t put away, a glass of water, four conkers, a fuzzy gogo and some silver star stickers.  Also the phone, my debit card and paper and pens.  I’ve spent the morning sorting out landlord’s insurance and car insurance.

Until recently, I’d have had a small child in the kitchen with me.  Usually sitting upside down in the armchair by the window, or leaping off it in an attempt to achieve flight.  Now my soundtrack of CBeebies has been replaced by Radio 2.  Despite wincing daily at the dodgy singing of Katie from I Can Cook, I’m still not sure if I like the change.

Sitting at the kitchen table and blogging has become an integral part of my life.  I’ve come to rely on writing things out.  I’ve written about the important things in our life, buying plane tickets, starting school.  I’ve written about my hopes and fears for our trip and what it’ll mean for our family.  I’ve written about not very much at all, lying under a tree on a summer’s day, swimming in the sea.  The writing has been a pleasure.  I’d go so far as to say it’s changed my life.  It’s made me friends, kept me sane, determined my career path.  I can’t imagine going back to not writing.

Recently I’ve not been writing much.  And when I have it’s been short and factual.  As our departure date approaches, the pressure to get stuff done is mounting.  Lots of phone calls to the estate agent to sort out details, cupboards to be emptied into boxes, trips to the charity shop with yet more too-small children’s clothes, emails to be fielded from people wanting to buy our cot.  No you cannot carry a cot singlehandedly on the tube.  Even if it’s been taken it apart.

I’ve not written about swimming, or walking in woods, or visits to the Tower of London.  I’ve not taken part in the Writing Workshop in weeks.  I miss it.  I miss rolling words around in my head, creating pictures, describing my feelings in combinations of twenty six letters.

I won’t get many more chances to sit at my kitchen table before we leave, emptying my thoughts into the WordPress text box.  Soon the  table will be dismantled and carried carefully down to the basement, hopefully without scratching the new paintwork.  I’ll be busy visiting friends, squishing thermal underwear into backpacks, ordering taxis to the airport.

Very soon our adventure will begin.  I shall be writing about it.

___________________________________________________________________

This post was written for the absolutely marvellous Writing Workshop at Sleep is for the Weak.  The prompt I chose this week was “Be present. Describe a moment, something in your now. Doesn’t have to be extraordinary, just be still and take it all in.”

21 Responses to “Writing”

  1. TheMadHouse 05/10/2010 at 2:31 pm #

    I am so looking forward to your trip and being able to share in it with yoou my friend. You may not have written much lately, but you have been a comfort over on twitter for me, as I too learn to live with a soundtrack of Radio Two rather than CBebbies.

    I write at the litchen table too. Be well my friend, travel safe and breath it all in. I admire you all.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/10/2010 at 3:07 pm #

      Twitter has been perfect these last few weeks, enough to keep in touch with people, but not so much I can’t do other stuff too (husband rolling eyes).

  2. christinemosler 05/10/2010 at 2:32 pm #

    Will you packing silver stars? This piece really captures that moment of silence as you take a big breath before jumping in; the taking stock. Lovely. Makes me miss you before you’ve gone. x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/10/2010 at 3:08 pm #

      I think I might. Need to write a post about managing behaviour issues away from home…

  3. Paula 05/10/2010 at 2:40 pm #

    *applauds* This is why you should be spending more time writing xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/10/2010 at 3:06 pm #

      I am going to write EVERY DAY. Well, almost every day. I miss it.

      • Rachel 07/10/2010 at 2:50 pm #

        Ha! That’s what you think….travel is surprisingly time consuming.

  4. jfb57 05/10/2010 at 2:48 pm #

    Your words have painted a great picture. I can see you there & smell the flash!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/10/2010 at 3:06 pm #

      Hmm, not exactly my favourite smell!

  5. Marina K. Villatoro 05/10/2010 at 4:02 pm #

    What a great post, it describes exactly what I feel when I´m about to start a new adventure.

  6. Hot Cross Mum 05/10/2010 at 7:49 pm #

    What a really lovely post – so peaceful, yet so much going on for you. I’m really looking forward to reading all about your adventures so please – keep writing!

  7. andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou 05/10/2010 at 11:20 pm #

    This is beautiful and you have really captured the moment, the quietness before it all begins lovely xx

  8. Tanya (Bump2Basics) 06/10/2010 at 11:24 am #

    You’ve got a lot on your plate now preparing for an amazing trip but I’m sure your writing will come. There is nothing like an adventure and seeing things through fresh eyes to inspire….look forward to reading more.

  9. Sara 07/10/2010 at 12:08 pm #

    I can actually see your kitchen table from the way you’ve described it! I love this.

  10. gaelikaa 07/10/2010 at 3:45 pm #

    Blogging is a great tension reliever, I find. It helps a lot!

  11. Deer Baby 07/10/2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Loovely post. Can really visualise it. Not long to go!!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 08/10/2010 at 9:46 am #

      It’s all starting to feel very weird.

  12. Nickie@Typecast 07/10/2010 at 7:59 pm #

    You are such a good writer, Vic. I was sat at that table with you. I felt quite melancholy too. I can sense both your sadness and your excitement. I can’t WAIT to read your updates whilst you’re away x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 08/10/2010 at 9:40 am #

      Thank you Nickie, that’s a real compliment coming from you. I’ve not been reading blogs much recently, but I love your writing too.

  13. Bumbling 09/10/2010 at 9:51 pm #

    I can’t wait for you to write about your trip. If your words can evoke images of your travels in the same way you’ve shown me the picture at your kitchen table, I feel like I will be with you every step of the way.

    I can’t wait to join you on this adventure. I feel like I already have…

    Fabulous post. Amazing words.

  14. eggscreamandhoney 12/10/2010 at 10:04 pm #

    You’ve really captured a moment here Victoria. It’s lovely. Can’t wait to read all about your trip.

Leave a Reply

