To Let

27 Sep

“You must be so excited”, people say to me on a regular basis.  It’s hard to know how to reply.  In theory I’m excited, but there’s always a but.  There’s so much to do.  So much we have no control over.  And I feel ungrateful and churlish saying I’m not excited when we’re about to do what we’re about to do.

On Saturday I discovered what was wrong.  Why I’ve not been excited.  This trip has been three years in the planning.  Being a grown up is complicated it seems, and pulling it off has meant sorting a large number of quite different things, entirely unrelated to the actual travelling.  By far the largest piece of the jigsaw is renting out our house.  Not only is it undesirable to leave a house empty for nine months, there’s the not insignificant matter of where the money would come from to fund a nine month holiday.  Thailand’s cheap, but it’s not THAT cheap.  We have to rent our house out to fund the trip.

So for three years my to do list has had ‘rent out house’ on it.  We’ve spent a lot of time and money making it a desirable proposition.  We’ve put in a new kitchen, replaced the rotting, draughty windows, decorated and fixed all the things that you never normally get round to fixing.  Which has been a good process, and one I’m glad I’ve done.

The list of things to fix is finally shrinking to light at end of tunnel proportions, so last week we chose an agent and put our house on the rental market.  They were very efficient and we’ve had lots of viewings, which has necessitated lots of cleaning and tidying, but you can’t have everything.

On Saturday we received an offer.  From an American couple with a two year old child.  They’d like to rent our house for nine months, for a not inconsiderable weekly sum.  And over the last forty eight hours the reality has sunk in.  We can go on our trip if we rent our house out.  We’ve rented our house out.  We can go on our trip.

Are you going to ask me if I’m excited?

14 Responses to “To Let”

  1. Laura 27/09/2010 at 6:35 pm #

    I’m excited, I hope you are too!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/09/2010 at 6:38 pm #

      I am! *big fat cheesy grin*

  2. Dr_Reba 27/09/2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Congratulations. You must be shitting yourself with excitement ;0)

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/09/2010 at 6:39 pm #

      I’ll save that for the night before 😉

  3. Paula 27/09/2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Did they rent it out despite seeing that rat in the upstairs bathroom?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/09/2010 at 7:24 pm #

      Yes. They weren’t drunk when they looked round.

      • Paula 27/09/2010 at 9:43 pm #

        LOL, I’ll have to take your word for that…

  4. angelsandurchinsblog 27/09/2010 at 8:38 pm #

    Congratulations! Your rental family sounds great (not tooooo many children) and you’ll return to a house with a new kitchen, etc, so it won’t just have been done for someone else. Good luck!!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/09/2010 at 9:09 pm #

      I know! One child is perfect.

  5. christinemosler 28/09/2010 at 10:33 am #

    I can’t believe, in retrospect, how calm you were when you took that phone call as we crossed the road on Saturday. *does that embarrassing silly excited dance again*

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 28/09/2010 at 11:35 am #

      I think it just hadn’t sunk in. I was having such a lovely day anyway, it was just one more nice thing.

  6. Marylin 28/09/2010 at 12:06 pm #

    YAY! I hope you’ll be blogging some of your trip! 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 28/09/2010 at 3:06 pm #

      certainly will!

  7. If I Could Escape . . . 06/10/2010 at 5:31 pm #

    Yeah — you must be so excited! LOL

Leave a Reply

