Food

27 Sep

Ned eating Vietnamese frog curry

One of the great pleasures of travelling is trying new foods.  From shave ice and spam sushi in Hawaii, to deep fried crickets in Thailand, the world is one big edible experience.

There is something so right about eating a local speciality in it’s home locality.  I’ll never forget the freezing February day we ate chocolate ice creams watching the vaporettos zip up and down the Lido in Venice.  Or the spicy laksa for breakfast whilst watching a bird singing competition on a humid Sunday morning in Singapore.  Or the bars of Milka chocolate eaten at the top of Swiss mountains, the sound of cow bells serenading our picnics.

I’m looking forward to blogging about food.  First up, airplane food…

This post was written for The Gallery at Sticky Fingers.  This week’s prompt was ‘food’.

32 Responses to “Food”

  1. jfb57 27/09/2010 at 8:26 pm #

    Urgh! Just the thought caused me problems but it may well have smelt delicious!!Looking forward to having my taste buds tittivated!!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 28/09/2010 at 3:07 pm #

      It did smell delicious, lemongrassy.

  2. Paula 27/09/2010 at 9:40 pm #

    That boy may be bloody gorgeous but bleurgh! Now I know why it’s not me doing this….my children would exist purely on a diet of mini rolls and cocktail sausages and out and out refuse to sample the many, er, delights along the way. xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/09/2010 at 9:57 pm #

      Can you get mini rolls in Hawaii? I have to say, my other two children are slightly fussier. It’s his middle child food thing. Except instead of refusing to eat, he’ll try absolutely anything, the weirder the better, while we clap like he’s a performing seal. He’s eaten scorpion.

  3. christinemosler 28/09/2010 at 10:35 am #

    Keep an eye out for any veggie delicacies as you go please. *sits back smugly in the knowledge that she will never have to eat a scorpion or anything else wriggly*

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 2:14 pm #

      Lots of delicious veggie food in the Far East. But also lots of edible insects…

  4. Alethea 28/09/2010 at 11:53 am #

    OMG he could be eating Princess Tiana! He is gorgeous though!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 28/09/2010 at 3:07 pm #

      I hadn’t thought of that…

  5. Jenny paulin 28/09/2010 at 3:05 pm #

    He has got amazing eyelashes! Gorgeous!
    You are right about eating food from it’s proper origin and you will be able to do this very soon 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 28/09/2010 at 3:06 pm #

      I’m very proud about the eyelashes. I made them myself 😉

  6. Chris 28/09/2010 at 4:12 pm #

    PS His eyelashes are very gorgeous. My Godmother used to say ‘They’ll drop out’ in a very off hand way about my children’s luscious lashes. She was wrong.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 2:13 pm #

      I hope he keeps them. They make up for a lot of things.

  7. Marina K. Villatoro 28/09/2010 at 4:18 pm #

    He looks so cure! But does he know what he is eating? Not everyone would have frog if they knew what it was. In case he did know: What a brave boy!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 28/09/2010 at 8:11 pm #

      He chose it!

  8. Tara 28/09/2010 at 4:39 pm #

    I agree yes yes I agree about eating local dishes in their country of origin but BLEURGH!
    I went on a press trip years ago to the south of France and was given a pigs trotter. Couldn’t eat it. Just couldn’t!

    And LAFFIN at Alethea’s comment re Princess Tiana!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 28/09/2010 at 8:12 pm #

      It’s just like chicken…

  9. Nova 29/09/2010 at 10:03 am #

    What an adventurous boy he is! You wouldn’t get me eating it though.
    I read your comment about him being the middle child and my original middle child ( except he’s not anymore) would do exactly that!! Funny aren’t they.
    Lovely photo…..even if he is eating a frog! 😉

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 2:12 pm #

      He’s really great at trying new things

  10. Nic's Notebook 29/09/2010 at 10:29 am #

    OMG frog curry!! It’s so good they can try these things being so young!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 2:12 pm #

      It was really delicious, I promise

  11. anka 29/09/2010 at 10:37 am #

    I think it’s a great experience to taste local dishes while you are local, but sometimes you need some courage. I try not to ask what the ingredients are, but rather what the main taste is – salty, sweet, sour… This way I have managed to eat quite a few strange things.
    The little guy is so cute, very concentrated on the sticks 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 2:07 pm #

      He really wanted to use chopsticks, he was trying very hard!

  12. him up north 29/09/2010 at 11:05 am #

    Does it have to be Vietnamese frogs or can I raid the garden pond? 🙂

    My first thought is “bleurgh”. My second is “bleurgh” too, but I guess you never know till you try. Ned looks unsure in that pic. Nice shot.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 2:06 pm #

      I expect you can raid the garden pond. I don’t suppose the frogs had travelled all the way from Vietnam…

  13. Kate 29/09/2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Oh my. Did he eat it? I have to say it wouldn’t be my first choice of shot.

    • Kate 29/09/2010 at 12:08 pm #

      Shot? I mean food…. durrr……. brain engage with fingers. Not!

      • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 2:04 pm #

        Are you suggesting I feed my small child shots!?

  14. marisworld 29/09/2010 at 2:45 pm #

    I too thought bleurrgggh and am still thinking that and marvelling at your gorgeous lad going for it. Not sure my girls would.
    Beautiful lashes as already mentioned

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 2:05 pm #

      He will try literally anything once.

  15. Mirka Moore 29/09/2010 at 2:53 pm #

    I would give it a go, love new things 😉 @Kahanka

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/09/2010 at 2:05 pm #

      It really was delicious. As they say, just like chicken really.

  16. Nickie@Typecast 07/10/2010 at 7:53 pm #

    And this is why I will never travel anywhere exotic. I could only eat about 10% of that food you have just listed LOL.

    Also, I am mightily impressed at that chopstick skill and the fact that he is eating what I’d call “weird” food.

    *runs from blog post*

Leave a Reply

