Six weeks!

20 Sep

This time in six weeks we’ll be somewhere over the Atlantic.  Jeepers.  I’m starting to get excited.

Of course, I have been excited before now.  I was excited when we first started thinking about the possibilities.  I was excited when we finally, actually decided to do it on Steve’s 40th birthday.  I was excited on the snowy January day when we bought tickets.  But recently, I’ve been more anxious and overwhelmed than excited.  Anxious and overwhelmed because there’s just so much to do before we go.  Anxious and overwhelmed about the choices we’ve made and whether we’re doing the right thing.

But with six weeks until departure, I’m starting to let go of my anxieties.  The plans are coming together.  We’ve chosen an estate agent and our house will be on the rental market by the end of the week.  We’ve got our final jabs tomorrow, which I’ll be deeply relieved to have dealt with.  All our main flights are now booked, including the one home, and I’ve finally got round to booking a condo in Maui.  Our meals are starting to take on a Ready Steady Cook quality as I try to use up all the random packets and tins hidden at the back of the cupboard.  I’ve even set a date for a leaving party.  Now I’ve just got to invite someone.

I know I say this every time we reach a random round number milestone, but six weeks really isn’t long, is it?  Eeek.  I’ve got an excited fluttery feeling in my chest and a big grin on my face.

Now, does anyone have any recipes for tinned pineapple?

21 Responses to “Six weeks!”

  1. Josie 20/09/2010 at 8:22 pm #

    Bit short of words just now but wanted to say that I’m very, very proud of you, and that I’m going to miss you.

    That’s it really. Much love x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/09/2010 at 12:59 pm #

      Ha, you don’t get rid of me that easily missus. I’ll still be around. There are always skype and email you know x

  2. theheadsoffice 20/09/2010 at 8:24 pm #

    Golly – yes 6 weeks is ‘you can start to squeee time’!Can’t believe you’ll be gone so soon! 😦

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/09/2010 at 12:56 pm #

      I’ll still be here, so to speak.

  3. Mara 20/09/2010 at 9:01 pm #

    I’m so excited for you! You’re right – the getting ready is definitely the hardest part. My favorite moment is what I call “the driveway moment” when you’re all packed up and actually pulling out. At that moment it doesn’t matter what you’ve neglected or forgotten to do – you’re headed for the airport/train station/open road and there’s no turning back.

    Canned pineapple (as we call it Stateside) is great wrapped in a little salty ham and stuck on a toothpick. My children would call that a “kids’ lunch”.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/09/2010 at 12:56 pm #

      I can’t wait til that moment!

  4. Whimsical Wife 20/09/2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Oooo 6 weeks is no time at all – it’s just all soooo exciting!!!! Does it feel real??

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/09/2010 at 12:58 pm #

      No, it really doesn’t yet.

  5. Laura 20/09/2010 at 11:07 pm #

    42 sleeps and counting …

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/09/2010 at 12:58 pm #

      Oooh, I get a sleepometer!

  6. Rachel 21/09/2010 at 11:49 am #

    ham or cheese cubes….cocktail stick…..on an upside down grapefruit covered in foil….kids will think you have truly lost it!
    Good luck with the pesky jabs x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/09/2010 at 12:57 pm #

      Thank you, I really can’t wait to get them over and done with. They’ve been horrible.

  7. Marina K. Villatoro 21/09/2010 at 4:47 pm #

    I’d be anxious too!!!! Ooo but I bet it will be a fantastic trip!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 24/09/2010 at 4:33 pm #

      That it will!

  8. forrestblogging 21/09/2010 at 8:46 pm #

    It’s going to be fabulous. Really fabulous. You will look back on these anxious weeks and think ‘Really?’ And sure, there are going to be a few times on the road when you question why the freak you decided to do this, and couldn’t we have just spent the money buying something nice for the house (or whatever) and surely there are easier ways to go mad, but trust me, all the awesome moments (and there will be many) will more than make up for it.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 24/09/2010 at 4:33 pm #

      I know that really, and I’m MUCH rather have plane tickets than a new car.

  9. If I Could Escape . . . 22/09/2010 at 12:48 pm #

    It’ll be here in no time!!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 24/09/2010 at 4:34 pm #

      I know, it’s taken me most of a week to get round to replying and it’s now coming up for five weeks. Eeek

  10. christinemosler 22/09/2010 at 7:40 pm #

    SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

    Tinned pineapple makes the most yummy spicy fresh chutney.x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 24/09/2010 at 4:35 pm #

      That is an excellent idea *rushes off to find pot of chilli flakes*

  11. babieswhobrunch 25/09/2010 at 6:13 pm #

    wow – just enjoyed reading all about your plans. envious. and inspired. i’ll keep on following….

Leave a Reply

