This is why

15 Sep

I’ve not blogged for over a week.  With less than seven weeks until we leave, you’d think I’d have more to say.  Some exciting news about a condo in Hawaii or a campervan in New Zealand.  But no, can’t think of anything.

This last week has mostly been taken up with adjusting to school.  Me and the children.  Don’t worry, I shan’t bore you with tales of mourning babyhood.  I’ve wallowed so much, I’m boring myself.  And the children have settled in fine to their new classes.  So what’s the problem?

The problem is that I hardly see them.  And when I do, I’m either nagging them to put their shoes on, or nagging them to sit and eat tea, or nagging them to get in the bath.  When I’m not nagging them, I’m dealing with meltdowns.  Because they’re tired.  Very tired. And when they’re tired, they’re not at their best.

So instead of enjoying each other’s company, I’m dealing with the fallout of school.  Tea time is a battle, bath time is a battle, bedtime is a battle.  And I don’t like it.  It seems all wrong.

And that, in a nutshell, is why we are embarking on this trip.  I want to enjoy my children’s company before they grow up.

Now, it’s about time I booked that condo in Maui…

9 Responses to “This is why”

  1. Mammywoo 15/09/2010 at 8:00 pm #

    Can’t wait to read tales of your adventure. X

  2. Paula 15/09/2010 at 8:02 pm #

    Battle is a Battle too…. I know exactly what you mean, I don’t need to tell you that. I’ve said it so many times, but what you’re doing is brilliant – exactly, you’ll get to enjoy them, without the stress and the routines and the school bags. *sigh* xx

  3. wendy powell 15/09/2010 at 8:04 pm #

    I love this post. How often do we ‘enjoy their company’ rather than just ‘deal with’ them. Not enough, that’s for sure!

  4. TheMadHouse 15/09/2010 at 8:14 pm #

    You are so right and I am so envious of your trip. I love my boys company and want my time with them to be fun

  5. Pants With Names 15/09/2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Great post – and pulled me up short. Both because I spend a lot of time dealing with mine and you are so right – we should enjoy their company. Second because if you have less than 7 weeks then so do I…

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 15/09/2010 at 9:49 pm #

      OMG you’re having a baby in 7 weeks! It’s so weird that our countdowns are the same.

  6. MummyT 16/09/2010 at 2:31 am #

    It is one of the best and most surprising things about longterm travelling: how much mundane, everyday time you get with your children. Something I, as a working mum, really didn’t have that much of before we left. (More than many, as I worked from home. But not enough.)

  7. Jacqui Maxted 16/09/2010 at 10:24 am #

    I can sympathize with your blog, but please don’t fret too much. Although we have not embarked on world trip yet, (3 years time). We still try to get away 3 times a year, even if that means visiting nanny in Devon, for a long weekend. My son’s are 15 & 18 & we still enjoy the bonding of being together & enjoying each others company & I hope that won’t change over time.

  8. Lorraine from The Party Times 18/09/2010 at 10:02 pm #

    So envious of you and your family taking the plunge – so easy to get bogged down in the here and now including the tiredness and nagging that us parents are so good at! x

Leave a Reply

