Saying goodbye

6 Sep

“Shall I see you again before you go?” asked my Aunt yesterday.  “Um, I don’t know, maybe, but probably not.”

We leave eight weeks today, eeek, and all our remaining weekends are already planned out.  We’re visiting friends in Hertfordshire and Suffolk, having friends to stay, spending time with family, seeing friends in London.  And that’s without trying to fit in the usual childrens parties and last minute invitations.  We are going to be busy for the next eight weeks.  And all our plans involve saying goodbye to people.

I’m not one for goodbyes.  I’ve lived in the same city all my life and I like things to stay the same.  I find it unsettling when people move away.  I’m not a fan of any kind of change.  So saying goodbye is hard.  Knowing that all I’m doing for the next eight weeks is saying goodbye to people, is making me feel a bit wobbly.

Some of our friends we don’t see very often anyway.  But as one friend said to me recently “it’s nice to know you’re there, that I can call you up and we can go for a coffee, email’s just not the same”.  I know what she means.

Anyone got a tissue?

14 Responses to “Saying goodbye”

  1. Alethea 06/09/2010 at 2:32 pm #

    We were in a sort of similar boat last year. We moved from one country to another. It was awful saying goodbye, especially to my mum with whom I re-bonded big time. (We practically moved in with them for the last two months as my hubby came over two months before we did to set up our new life). Skype becomes a life saver, as does email, but unfortunately nothing tops a big squishy hug. One advantage that you have is that you will be traveling as a family, that will hopefully help a bit!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/09/2010 at 4:00 pm #

      We’ll have skype and email and all those things and my parents are planning to visit us half way round. But I’ll really miss my friends. It’s not forever.

  2. If I Could Escape . . . 06/09/2010 at 3:22 pm #

    I don’t like goodbyes either and am really putting off telling our friends and acquaintances about our big move till the last possible moment. *sigh*

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/09/2010 at 3:59 pm #

      It’s really hard isn’t it?

  3. webworkingwoman 06/09/2010 at 3:43 pm #

    I used to live abroad and came home (the UK) every summer to stay with families and friends, I cried when ever we left, we had no email, skype, facebook and even phonecalls were rare! I still cry when family visit and leave from Oz! It is really really hard, I always found it helped to have a plan, either a day you were emailing or a definite time you were going to get in touch, it is the vaugeness of “see you sometime” that is hard. And there is always the old saying of don’t say goodbye say au revoir! You’re going to something and you will have an amazing time, I am so jealous! enjoy that last 8 weeks and the next year!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/09/2010 at 3:59 pm #

      It’s a good idea to have a plan. I hate it when you’re left hanging.

  4. jfb57 06/09/2010 at 5:03 pm #

    Oh dear! …and so it startes! There are going to be quite a few of these!!*sniff*

  5. Anita 06/09/2010 at 10:17 pm #

    friends will always stay in touch and be there for you when you return! xxx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 08/09/2010 at 11:28 am #

      I know they will. And have squidgy babies to visit too…

  6. andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou 06/09/2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Oh I feel for you, I hate saying goodbye. It brings back painful memories of me saying goodbye to people and I hate it. Totally understand making you wobble it does me too xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 08/09/2010 at 11:27 am #

      Thankyou 🙂

  7. scribblingmum 07/09/2010 at 4:41 pm #

    It must feel like it’s coming in quick. Is your house plastered in post it notes with lists everywhere? Any excitement in there yet? It is exciting. A wonderful, brave, adventure. you’ll need to remind yourselves of that now and again, especially when it is so hard to say au revoir to people. It will be worth it x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 08/09/2010 at 11:26 am #

      Oh yes, lists aplenty. And excitement too. A whole big mess of things really.

  8. Emma 25/10/2010 at 7:55 am #

    Oh I know how hard the goodbyes are, at least you are coming back. Some of our goodbyes were proper “never see again” goodbyes, mainly people we were not that close to, acquaintances rather than friends but still sad. We have had a few visitors and I’ve been back to the UK once but we have no plans at the moment even for a visit back.

Leave a Reply

