The Handy Squad

2 Sep

You’ve seen my to do list, right?  If you haven’t, it’s one of those tabs at the top.  It’s long, and it includes lots of housey type jobs, fixing locks, cutting notches in plasterboard, that sort of thing.  So when I got an email from a PR asking if I wanted to review a handyman service, The Handy Squad, Yahoo couldn’t send my response fast enough.  A chance to cross lots of things off in one morning, and all for free?  Where do I sign?

So, with a date and time fixed, I head off to my least favourite place, B&Q, to buy supplies.  OK, so Homebase is probably my even less favourite place, but what’s a DIY warehouse between friends?  After much head scratching and asking questions of people who “don’t work in this aisle”, I finally get a lock to affix to the basement door, for the secure storage of our stuff.

And so the day itself dawns.  The day of free handyman delights.  I get up early, because he is coming at 8am and I don’t want him seeing me in my pyjamas.  But he doesn”t come.  For an hour.  At five to nine, he knocks on the door, all smart uniform and no apology.  Hmmm.

First job is to fix hard-won lock to basement door.  Except all locks are not equal.  The ever-so-helpful B&Q staff failed to inform me of this and the lock I bought isn’t the right size.  It’s not going well.  But it’s not the Handyman’s fault this time.

And look at their whizzy yellow bikes!

At least I still have plenty more jobs on my list.  He affixes my new washing line, repairs the front gate latch and cuts small notches out of some offending plasterboard in readiness for a new electricty meter.  He works quickly, neatly and is very polite.  He points out things that might need work in the future and gives advice.  I’m very happy with his work, there’s just the small matter of his time keeping.

It’s paperwork time.  He gasps and says in a rush “Oh my goodness I’m so sorry I was supposed to be here at eight o’clock wasn’t I?”  “Umm, yes.”  “You see, look? It says eight until nine and I only read the nine I’m so very sorry I’ve never done that before.”

So there we have it.  The Handy Squad Handyman was polite, helpful and efficient.  It’s a shame about timing issue, but these things can happen sometimes.  I would use them again.  Infact, once I manage to get the correct lock, I just might.

3 Responses to “The Handy Squad”

  1. James Irwin 03/09/2010 at 10:59 am #

    Dear Ms Wallop – I’m really sorry about this late arrival. We pride ourselves on being punctual so I’m very disappointed we let you down. I will remind the team that they should read their work orders more carefully so that they arrive at the start time of the job and not the end time! If you do decide to use us again, I hope we can show you our normal service. James.

  2. Amy @ The Q Family 03/09/2010 at 2:56 pm #

    I think we have similar service like that in the US. But I have to say I’m impressed at the yellow crew. Remind me of Geek squad than handyman squad.

  3. Kelly 05/09/2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Oh I wish I could have one of these, we are hopeless at DIY.

Leave a Reply

