Two months

1 Sep

Today, in exactly two months time, we shall be at Heathrow, waiting to board a plane.  Now, I know I keep saying this, but two months really isn’t very long.  Tomorrow it’ll be less than two months.  In a couple of weeks, it’ll be six weeks.  Having almost survived the school holidays, I can testify that six weeks is actually hardly any time at all.

So, two months.  Two months to finish sorting out the house, pack up our things, and rent it out.  I’ve made a very good start with the packing.  And the decorator’s finished.  A huge tick.  Just a few more jobs to do.  Once the children are all at school full time, in a couple of weeks, this should be doable.

We’ve had three out of our four sets of jabs.  This was a task I was dreading, rightly as it turns out.  But they’re almost done.  And we’ve all survived.  I’ve been keeping Early Learning Centre on Kensington High Street afloat with all the bribes I’ve bought.

We’ve definitely sold our car, which will be handed over to my sister in law’s sister before we leave.  Another fairly big tick.

Estate agents are my next big job.  But they want my business, right?  So they should be nice to me and super helpful.  I’m an eternal optimist.

Now I’m making progress with the boring stuff, it’s time to start thinking about the trip itself.  Where are we going to stay?  What are we going to do?  I bought the Lonely Planet guides to Hawaii and New Zealand today.  It’s time to start dreaming about volcanos and beaches.

I still can’t quite believe this is actually happening.

18 Responses to “Two months”

  1. Paula 01/09/2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Reading this makes my mouth go all funny…what you are doing is monumental, it’s brilliant, it’s the single most exciting thing that anyone I know has ever done. Take any lingering doubts and stow them in the cellar, along with all your junk *ahem* important things.

    Pxx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/09/2010 at 6:02 pm #

      It’s not really is it? It can’t be. I’m really quite a boring person. You’re making me nervous now. And as for the junk comment, some people are SO rude.

  2. Susan Mann 01/09/2010 at 3:08 pm #

    That really isn’t long good luck with everything. x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/09/2010 at 5:54 pm #

      Thank you 🙂

  3. Laura 01/09/2010 at 5:31 pm #

    Come on now, I’ve been waiting for ‘our’ trip for what feels like ten years. I can’t wait to pack my teeeeeny rucksack and get going.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/09/2010 at 5:54 pm #

      Patience, my friend, it’s really not long now. I’ve started a packing pile.

  4. forrestblogging 01/09/2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Fantastic news! Please feel free to contact me if you want any tips on Australia.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/09/2010 at 10:00 am #

      Thankyou. When I’ve worked out more of an itinerary, I’ll let you know 🙂

  5. Nat 01/09/2010 at 9:26 pm #

    So incredible I can NOT wait until you blog about your travels. Of course mostly Japan, NZ and my old homeland Aus, The kids will thrive on it. We travel a lot on weekends to Europe and Eliza and Jerry both talk about it and remember crap loads, so, so good for them!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/09/2010 at 11:37 am #

      It’s always good to hear about children remembering travels. I remember my childhood trips.

  6. andthenallithoughtaboutwasyou 02/09/2010 at 1:22 am #

    I am so excited for you everything is so amazing, you are going to have such a fab time! And these last few weeks are going to fly past xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/09/2010 at 11:38 am #

      I know, the last year has flown past, let alone nine weeks!

  7. 21stcenturymummy 02/09/2010 at 10:19 am #

    I bet the next few weeks will go by in a flash. I’m SO jealous and can’t wait to follow your journey.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/09/2010 at 11:41 am #

      thanks 🙂

  8. thebowmanstravels 02/09/2010 at 10:36 am #

    Ahh! the lonely planet, a great ‘starting point’ for your plans. We had one for every country they are now slightly worn and full of scribbled notes, marks on maps and plenty of recommendations from other travellers heading in the opposite direction.

    We posted them back home when we were sending pack our gift/trinket/random purchases/etc. They’re on the bookshelf in the lounge along with ‘where to next’ ones!!

    Safe travels.
    Simon and family

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/09/2010 at 11:42 am #

      I have my old Lonely Planets too. I think they make great bedside reading. My husband thinks I’m mad!

  9. Iskra 02/09/2010 at 8:44 pm #

    I know exactly how you are feeling! We are leaving in 6 weeks – going to Nepal & India for 3 months with our 2 year old, so not as epic as your trip, but still quite a lot of lists! Achieved potty training last week so feeling on top of things, until I remember that we haven’t done a thing about visas yet & haven’t even begun to ponder the portable DVD player/no portable DVD player question yet…

  10. MummyT 03/09/2010 at 11:07 am #

    Sooooo exciting…

    I don’t know about you, but I can’t really do guidebooks until I’m almost at the place I’m headed to. The maps don’t seem to make any sense.

    Happy PostIting.

Leave a Reply

