Clearing out

30 Aug

See that?  Empty shelves.  Those shelves used to be full.  Full of books, jigsaws, board games, souvenirs from our travels, toys.  They’ve all been packed up.  Except for the music.  We can’t survive two months without ABBA dance routines and air guitar to I Predict A Riot.

The last few days have been spent cleaning.  We got back from Yorkshire to a newly decorated house, that was covered in dust and horribly chaotic, even by my standards.  I am slowly beginning to restore order, remove dust, make the place habitable.  Because soon we’ll be getting estate agents in to talk about putting our house on the rental market.  On Sunday I washed those shelves, and the kitchen skirting boards.  I did the same in the sitting room.  We’re getting there.  The end is in sight.  Or should I say the beginning?

____________________________________________________________________

The idea for this week’s Gallery at Sticky Fingers, was to take a picture on Sunday.  Of anything, but it had to be taken on Sunday.  The idea is to mark the day that three of my fellow bloggers, Josie, Eva and Sian flew out to Bangladesh to help raise awareness of the work of Save the Children.  Please look at the Save the Children site to find out more and add your name to their petition.

13 Responses to “Clearing out”

  1. jfb57 30/08/2010 at 8:17 pm #

    How lovely! You must be feeling good about the progress you’re making! Well done!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 31/08/2010 at 9:38 am #

      I am, thank you.

  2. Paula 30/08/2010 at 10:03 pm #

    Wow, that’s tidy – I’m a little bit scared actually. S has decided he wants to paint his bedroom light blue – I think maybe you brainwashed him…

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 31/08/2010 at 9:39 am #

      Don’t worry, the shelves on the other side of the fireplace have lots of stuff on them. S clearly has very good taste.

  3. TheMadHouse 31/08/2010 at 12:05 am #

    Just imagine all the treasures of your travels that you can fill them with again. We love I predict a riot too, Mini singing along a nd the lary line – so Northern!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 31/08/2010 at 9:39 am #

      I know! Love a nice bit of souvenir shopping.

  4. Erica 31/08/2010 at 8:26 am #

    You must be so excited, can’t wait to come on the journey with you.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 31/08/2010 at 9:39 am #

      I am, thanks

  5. Marina K. Villatoro 31/08/2010 at 6:49 pm #

    How exciting! I can’t wait for your adventure to start. It’s going to be so much fun to read about it.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/09/2010 at 5:55 pm #

      Thank you, I hope so!

  6. Parklover 02/09/2010 at 9:46 am #

    Wow, how exciting.I’m with you there, I couldn’t manage 2 days without music in the house, let alone 2 months!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/09/2010 at 11:40 am #

      I’d like to point out that the air guitar reference was relating to the four year old!

  7. Above Ground Pools 03/09/2010 at 9:30 am #

    wow friend…!!!you gonna rock for next couple of months with great trip…All the best…!!!

Leave a Reply

