3 months

1 Aug

So.  This time in three months we’ll be on a plane.  In the air.  On our way to Los Angeles.  It’s still not really sunk in.  I don’t suppose it will until we take off.  Or arrive.  Or get to Disneyland.  Three months.

This time last month, I felt very unprepared indeed.  I felt rather overwhelmed by the length of my to do list, like I might not actually get it done.  Today I’m feeling ever-so-slightly more prepared, like it will be possible to crack the list, if I put in the effort.

We’ve had our first set of jabs, an event I’d been dreading, feeling rather sick about.  And while it wasn’t a barrel of laughs, we survived, with only achy arms to show for it.  The known is always better than the unknown, so  I don’t feel so bad about the next set.  I think we’ll all cope better.

I’ve cleared out more stuff than I ever knew we owned.  I think I’ve almost finished clearing out.  There’s always more, but I’ve got rid of a huge amount of stuff we don’t need.  For people who claim to be not particularly materialistic, who don’t view shopping as a leisure activity, who say they’d rather spend their money on plane tickets than stuff, we’ve got an awful lot of things.  It’s actually kind of embarrassing.  It’s making me think very differently about what is necessary for a comfortable life.

And I’ve started packing.  I’ve spent hours packing.  Carrying tottering piles of books downstairs, putting Playmobil in boxes, clothes in bags.  I’ve spent so much time packing up that I feel like I should be almost finished.  But I’m not, far from it.  I’m probably no more than half way through.  See paragraph above.

We’ve started decorating.  When I say we, I mean a nice man named Guy.  Our bedroom is now very blue.  In all the hurry to pack, I forgot to choose paint colours.  So I did a random pointy finger thing on the colour chart and we got a very bluey blue.  I like it.  I hope Sarah Beeny would approve, I’m not entirely sure that she would.

Umm, what else?  We’ve had some lights fixed, still have more lights to sort.  We’ve cancelled British Gas Homecare, we’ve possibly sold our car.  We’ve all been to the dentist except Steve (he’s a grown man, he can sort his own teeth out, are you reading this Steve?).  I don’t think we’ll have to go again, although it doesn’t do to tempt fate in these matters.

So, we’re sort of slowly getting there.  Our house is looking increasingly empty, soon it will look empty and pretty.  By this time next month, I hope I’ll have crossed a couple more things off the list.  This time next month, the children will be about to return to school.  Then it’ll be time to really crack on.  To start finishing things off.

I had a thought last night that I should start a packing pile, so that we don’t lose things we definitely need to take.   Like travel towels and the Swiss Army knife.  A packing pile.  Now that IS exciting…

12 Responses to “3 months”

  1. Crystal Jigsaw 01/08/2010 at 9:13 pm #

    A massive move for you, it all
    Sounds very exciting.
    CJ xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/08/2010 at 3:15 pm #

      Thank you, it is x

  2. Laura 01/08/2010 at 11:19 pm #

    Those three months are going to fly by.

    So cathartic throwing stuff out … so I find.

    Oh and Steve *waves frantically* GET TO THE DENTIST.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/08/2010 at 3:15 pm #

      It’s very cathartic throwing stuff out. What is bothering me, is that I know we’ll just start accumulating it again once we get back. I wish it wasn’t the case.

  3. Linda 02/08/2010 at 7:37 am #

    Wow, would really love to be in your shoes right now. It’s coming around so quickly. Do you mind me asking what writing work/commissions you have lined up now about your year out?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/08/2010 at 3:14 pm #

      I could make excuses, but the truth is I’ve done very little. Or nothing. I’m afraid it’s been put on the back burner. I’m hoping that in the two months that the children are at school before we leave, I’ll have time.

      • Linda 05/08/2010 at 7:29 pm #

        Well I have an idea on that front.

        Did you know that the August theme on a certain website is new places to go?

        Just saying.

  4. jfb57 02/08/2010 at 8:17 am #

    Well done you! You are cracking on! Now explain for me – are you taking more than ‘tourist’ packing & if so where is it going? I missed all the details at the beginning of your adventure so please forgive me!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/08/2010 at 3:12 pm #

      We are taking LESS than normal tourist packing. We are going minimal. Click on the Gear tab at the top for a list of what we’re taking…

  5. Rachel 02/08/2010 at 10:14 am #

    Sounds like you are mega organised compared to us!! We had to have our last lot of jabs the evening before we flew at the Gatwick Airport clinic!

    BTW it definately won’t sink in until you are on the plane – 30 mins into the flight on our Mumbai-bound aircraft I sat there reading Marie Claire and got to the ‘Next month in…’ page. I looked up and gazed into space as I suddenly realised I wouldn’t BE there next month or the 11 issues after that! Then hailed the stewardess for a very large G&T…

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/08/2010 at 3:13 pm #

      It’s a weird business isn’t it? It definitely doesn’t feel real yet.

  6. MummyT 04/08/2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Putting your packing pile into some of the bags that will need to carry it will really help reduce the packing pile… Sooo impressed by your organisation.

Leave a Reply

