Look away now if you don’t like needles…

30 Jul

Now, I was going to write my own post about our first jab experience, but when Steve asked me to edit his Dad Talk post for this week, I actually found myself thinking, “this is quite good”. So I’m nicking it. All’s fair in love and blogging, right?

Nine o’clock on a Wednesday morning, and we find ourselves in the doctor’s waiting room.  The time has come for our first round of jabs.  We are all booked in for Typhoid and Hepatitis (now was it A or C? – well one of them).  In the waiting room, the kids happily read books and amuse the other patients.  We are promptly called into see the nurse.

All is still well, the nurse goes through our details and tells Victoria what we are going to get.  Kids are still happy and cheerful.  Just to show how easy it all is, Victoria goes first.  They see the needle plunge into Mummy’s left arm.  They see the second needle plunge into Mummy’s left arm.  They see another needle plunge into Mummy’s right arm.  At that point, shall we say the mood in the room altered somewhat.

I wish I could claim my sons faced the situation with the quiet courage and dignity that saw Britain through the dark months of 1940. I wish I could say they stepped forward bravely, rolling up their sleeves, with only a casual wince to show that anything had happened.

But that would be a lie…

Ned starts to wail.  Okay, let’s do him first.  He sits on my lap as Victoria holds first one arm and then the other, while he sobs loudly. Very loudly.  But quickly, it is all over.

Dickon next.  He sits on my lap. All looks well.  He suddenly makes a break for the door.  He’s grabbed by the scruff of his neck, brought back and again it is all over very quickly.

Eve faces the whole situation with a smile, a laugh and her usual bravado – what a girl!

Finally it is my turn.  I have to take my shirt off to give the nurse space to go for the shoulder.

Oddly the children find this a mixture of deeply shocking and very hilarious.  Again, it’s all over very quickly and soon those little antibodies and coursing through my veins.

The best thing about it is the wonderful Vietnamese nurse.  She is thrilled to hear we are going travelling. She is delighted to hear that we are going to southeast Asia and extols the delights of her home country.

Also, given my sons’ melodramatic activities, she is the one who has displayed stoicism in the face of a difficult situation.

Now we just have to book in for all those jabs you cannot get on the NHS.  Looking forward to it!

6 Responses to “Look away now if you don’t like needles…”

  1. christinemosler 30/07/2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Very brave all going together! Or a bit mad. As the mother of an asthmatic who has to have a flu jab every year (and sometimes two if everyone’s having a panic about a new strain), I recognise this scenario all too well, I think I still have a scar from the kicking he gave me once somewhere! It’s easier now, he’s resigned and reluctant and stares at me with those ‘why are you doing this to me’ eyes…I couldn’t actually hold him anymore if he decided to kick off! I reward us both with huge ice creams.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/08/2010 at 3:18 pm #

      I thought it would be better going together! That if they saw me not flinching, then they’d be brave. Didn’t quite work like that.

  2. jfb57 30/07/2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Great post really well written! Glad you posted it V!

  3. angelsandurchinsblog 02/08/2010 at 12:45 am #

    The last outing at the jab clinic our two oldest competed to see who could hold out on crying the longest. The elder, about five seconds. The younger, well, it turned out that his thighs are so fat that he didn’t feel a thing, and asked when the ‘jab was jabbing’.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/08/2010 at 3:14 pm #

      Brilliant! I wish my three were like that. The eldest is very brave. The younger two, not so much.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mondays are for dreaming: A trip to the other side of the world | Mother of all Trips - 09/08/2010

    […] have trips planned that make our jaunt seem strictly minor league. Trips that involve things like vaccinations and schooling on the […]

Leave a Reply

