Is it a carseat? Is it a backpack? It is a plane?

19 Jul

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

OK, so I made the last one up, but the Trunki BoostApak IS both a car seat and a backpack.  Which is a genius idea, if you ask me.  The Lonely Planet Kids To Go forum is bursting with questions from worried parents about car seat usage in countries around the world.  We strap our kids in at home, so why wouldn’t we on holiday?  But it’s not always that easy.  It’s expensive to hire car seats and annoying to carry your own around.  Enter the BoostApak, a car seat, that turns into a children’s backpack.  Now I realise that I sound like a bad infomercial, and yes, we have been given one to try out for free, but I still think it’s a really good idea, OK?

The backpack bit is quite roomy, I managed to fit in all the clothes needed for one child when we go on our trip, minus a pair of pants, shorts, tshirt and hat.  The car seat is really easy to fit and use and the children like it, using it to play convoluted car games in the kitchen.  It does what it says on the tin.

My only real worry, is that as a backpack, it’s quite heavy, and I’m not sure that the children would be able to carry it for that long.  I weighed it on our kitchen scales, when full of clothes (which admittedly may not be terribly accurate) and it came to three and a half kilos, about twice what their filled backpacks weigh.  It has just two straps like a school bag, rather than a proper backpack which has chest straps and a waist belt.  These would help make it more comfortable.

I think it would be absolutely great for a two week holiday when you are whizzing through an airport and hiring a car.  Perhaps not so great for nine months backpacking when the children will need to carry their things on a regular basis and a lot of our travel will be on trains and buses.

So there you have it.  Now, if only the nice people at Trunki could invent some kind of teleportation device…

5 Responses to “Is it a carseat? Is it a backpack? It is a plane?”

  1. Rachel 21/07/2010 at 2:14 pm #

    What you didn’t mention is it’s use as a car seat. has it any kite marks etc? Or is it as good as sitting on a cushion? Let us know xxx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/07/2010 at 2:18 pm #

      It’s got all the relevant kite marks and approvals, it’s as good as a normal booster seat. I was really impressed by it apart from the weight. It retails at £39.99 I think.

      • Rachel 27/07/2010 at 8:03 am #

        So which kid are you going to pick?!

  2. Solveig 29/07/2010 at 9:01 pm #

    I think this looks amazing! It would solve all those worries I have everytime we travel somewhere and I agonise over if the hired carseat will be there and if it will be good enough. Think I’m going to get one!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/08/2010 at 3:19 pm #

      It really is good, and I’m not just saying that because they sent me one!

Leave a Reply

