Four Months

29 Jun

It’s almost three years since I had the slightly mad idea of leaving our lives behind for nine months to go travelling.  Three years ago, it seemed unimaginably far off.  For literally years, people have been asking us about our plans.  Oh they’re fine we’d say, mostly research at the moment, not much we can actually do for now.

In January, we finally had some news, we bought tickets.  It was exciting telling people, people were excited for us.  But it was still too early to sort out most other things.  We made lists, started to think about getting things done.  Thought about jabs but couldn’t actually have them.  Thought about visas, but couldn’t actually get them.

Then as time crept on, I gradually began working on my to do list.  And we started to have last things.  Last time we’d visit an airport before THE flight.  Last birthday the 8 year old would have before the trip.  Last winter for two years.

Four months on Friday we shall be in the air.  Four months.  It really isn’t very long.  Especially when two of those months will be the school holidays.  The to do list gets ever longer.  For each thing crossed off, at least two are added.  Suddenly, it feels, it’s no longer to early to do stuff.  It’s starting to feel like it’s too late.

We’ve half sorted the house, we now have a new kitchen, a smart front path and a beautifully restored kitchen light.  But we’ve still got a carpet to replace, bathroom lights to fix, the whole house to decorate.

I’ve cleared out a lot of stuff, but haven’t remotely finished.  And as for packing up, that’s going to be interesting with the children off school.  We now have passports and visas for Australia and the USA.  But vaccinations are a dark cloud on the horizon.  I’ve yet to count up the numer of injections we need from two sets of doctors.

I’ve dealt with my dentistry, but thanks to the vagaries of the London bus system the children missed their appointments and will be having them over the next couple of weeks.  Steve’s old enough to sort out his own teeth, or not.  I hear Thailand has very good emergency dentists.

And I haven’t even started to think about the things that need to be done at the last minute.  Utilities, house rental, packing.  Actually, the packing’s already sorted in my head and has been for about two years.  I’m sad like that.

Four months will whizz by in a flash.  A blur of sports days, picnics, trips to visit friends and relatives, back to school, starting school, ticking tasks off the list.  This time in four months, we’ll be leaving the day after tomorrow.  And it will be almost too late to do things that haven’t been done.  I’m excited.  I’m nervous.  I’m excited.  Blimey.  Is it really only four months?

21 Responses to “Four Months”

  1. Emma 29/06/2010 at 3:04 pm #

    I got excited for you just by reading that! Gosh.. Can imagine your list being rather crazy << good luck!! Looking forward to all those excting posts we'll be reading in 4 months time! 😀 x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/06/2010 at 3:54 pm #

      With lots of nervous posts in the meantime…

  2. Laura 29/06/2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Me and calendar girl are counting down the days x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/06/2010 at 3:52 pm #

      I hope she has some inspirational words to jolly me along.

  3. christinemosler 29/06/2010 at 3:13 pm #

    Squeeeee! How exciting! I do love a list, it’s worth going on big adventures just for the opportunity of lots of lovely list making! Will you be leaving a tidy house?! 😉

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/06/2010 at 3:53 pm #

      I’ve really loved the planning process. Nothing to brighten up a winter’s day than reading the Hawaii Lonely Planet.

  4. TheMadHouse 29/06/2010 at 3:21 pm #

    It is so exciting, I am so looking forward to this and living vicariously through you

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/06/2010 at 3:54 pm #

      It really is, I’ve lived vicariously through so many other travel blogs, it’s hard to believe others will be doing the same through mine.

  5. Sharon 29/06/2010 at 3:37 pm #

    I am looking forward to all your posts when you go, as you say the time will fly by! Wish I was brave enough to do something like that!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/06/2010 at 3:53 pm #

      Brave or foolish? Time will tell.

  6. jfb57 29/06/2010 at 4:26 pm #

    Crickey! I could feel myself getting excited as I read this! You are SO going to have a fab time & what doesn’t get done, doesn’t get done!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/06/2010 at 8:23 pm #

      As long as it’s nothing too important, I don’t mind.

  7. Paula 29/06/2010 at 6:42 pm #

    Tis but the blink of an eye, I fear the carriage carrying my farewell note may not reach you in time… *faints*

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/06/2010 at 8:23 pm #

      I hope you’re not going to cause a scene at the inn at Heathrow.

  8. Gappy 29/06/2010 at 10:04 pm #

    We’ll all be counting down the days with you. Can’t wait to read all about your travels.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/06/2010 at 5:07 pm #

      Aww thank you 🙂

  9. Kat 30/06/2010 at 5:09 pm #

    I can’t wait to start reading about your adventures!!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/07/2010 at 2:40 pm #

      I’m starting to get excited now.

  10. Nickie@Typecast 01/07/2010 at 9:58 am #

    Jealous, nervous on your behalf, glad it’s not me, anticipating fabulous diaries/blog posts during your adventure… yeah, I think I’m excited for you too 😀

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/07/2010 at 2:41 pm #

      Thanks Mrs, I swing between feeling nervous and wondering what we’ve got ourselves into, and looking forward to lying on the beach.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Four Months « It's a small world after all -- Topsy.com - 29/06/2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Laura – AWNTYM?, Victoria Wallop and Victoria Wallop, chris mosler. chris mosler said: RT @vwallop: New blog post. Four Months: http://wp.me/psaAB-Dp >so exciting! […]

Leave a Reply

