Guest Post Day

28 May

Well it’s that time of the wotsit again and Erica’s Guest Post Day has come around.  This time, I have drawn Not So Single Mum, who’s planning a very exciting move to Spain…

Hi, I’m known as “notsosinglemum” in the blogosphere (us anonymous bloggers eh!). This is my first time taking part in Little Mummy’s Guest Post Day and I was delighted to be paired with Victoria. I’ve read her blog many a time in the past, mainly because my daughter and I are due to move to Spain in the next few months and I’m after as many tips for travelling with children as I can lay my hands on!

I’ve been toying with numerous ideas of what to write for this post with the obvious theme being travel. So I thought I would take the opportunity to tell you a little bit about the area that I’m moving to in Spain. The reason my daughter and I are moving from the UK is due to my partner relocating to Spain for work at the beginning of the year. Since then we’ve been planning to follow him out there after the school year ends in July, we have however put it off to the start of the new autumn term in Spain in order to have enough time to save up for removal costs and organise transporting our lives to another country, which is actually turning out to be less of a headache than originally anticipated. I’ve also had my head burried in Spanish language books for the last few months and have been going to every Spanish class I can get to in order to improve my grasp of the language enough to help my daughter when she starts school out there.

My daughter and I recently returned from her first trip to see her new home and she is absolutely raring to go. We had a fantastic time and got to see a lot of the local area. We are infact moving to the Costa Del Sol, not the tourist infested end, but the slightly less lively end up near Gibraltar. The area we are moving to is called Manilva and is situated between Gibraltar and Malaga, which is pretty handy for getting to and from the UK as you have a choice of airports both with 45 minutes drive, although the newly built terminal at Malaga leaves much to be desired!

The area itself is of varying character with beautiful unspoilt beaches and rocky coves on the coast to white washed villages clinging to the mountains further inland. To the west of Manilva is Sotogrande, the most exclusive gated development in Spain, boasting world famous polo and golfing facilities (Prince Charles I am told is a fan) and to the east is Estepona which is a slightly more developed area and popular with holiday makers. The guide books will all tell you the area gets at least 310 days of sunshine a year, however speaking to the locals you’ll find that this year it has rained from just before Christmas until the beginning of May, but with temperatures in the late teens even in the winter months you can’t complain.

The main areas in Manilva are Duquesa, a port town still used by local fishermen and boasting glorious stretches of beach each with their own chinguitos (beach bars, selling locally caught seafood and snacks, which are often far superior than some of the pricier restaurants in the area).

Sabinillas is the other main town in the area, along with Manilva town itself which is just inland from this more traditional Spanish town which has a lovely promenade with plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants to whet the appetite or people watch from.


There is plenty to do in the local area such as fishing, boat trips, horse riding, hiking, polo, golf (the area has numerous golf clubs), swimming and much more. There are also the beautiful local towns and villages to visit with their traditional white washed buildings and cobbled streets, beautiful churches and fantastic restaurants that only the locals know about. There are also plenty of local attractions to keep you busy from the Roman Baths to the castle, not to mention attractions slightly further afield such as Gibraltar, the Safari Park at Estepona, Fuengirola Zoo, the Sea Life Centre in Benalmadena (which is actually very good) and the one I am dying to go and see – Alhambra, near Granada, which is the castle Ferdinand and Isabella (Katherine of Aragon’s parents) captured from the Moors and is said to be breathtaking (I’m a history geek).

As you can probably tell I have fallen in love with the area (much to my amazement as I had believed the stereotypes regarding the Costa Del Sol in the past) and I can’t wait to move out there with my daughter and get to know the area, the culture and the language better.

Now that you’ve read that, and commented I hope, please head on over to Not So Single Mum’s blog to have a look at my offering.

11 Responses to “Guest Post Day”

  1. jfb57 28/05/2010 at 8:25 am #

    It sounds really wonderful. Sadly I couldn’t see the pics but I’m sure they were great! Lovely to meet you in a different place!

  2. TheMadHouse 28/05/2010 at 9:35 am #

    I sounds divine, I am sure you will all jump feet first into your new life – good luck

    • notsosinglemum 28/05/2010 at 3:37 pm #

      Thanks, can’t wait!

  3. eggscreamandhoney 28/05/2010 at 10:27 am #

    Lucky you! Hope it all goes well.

    • notsosinglemum 28/05/2010 at 3:38 pm #

      Thank you

  4. anna 28/05/2010 at 12:58 pm #

    wow, so jealous! would love to move to spain – in fact would pretty much love to move anywhere outside of the uk at the moment… v itchy feet…

    • notsosinglemum 28/05/2010 at 3:40 pm #

      I always wanted to live abroad, just thought I would have to wait until retirement age, luckily this has come up at just the right time. I’ve always had itchy feet – I was a holiday rep years ago and always fancied the idea of working abroad again, although no doubt this time I will end up in an office!

  5. Tasha (Coding Mamma) 29/05/2010 at 12:33 am #

    How exciting. My parents and I lived in Spain (Valencia) for a year when I was 10. It was a fantastic time and I feel so lucky to have had that experience. I hope you and your daughter enjoy it as much as I did.

    • notsosinglemum 29/05/2010 at 3:11 pm #

      Thanks Tasha, I’m so glad you enjoyed it, makes me feel less guilty for dragging my daughter out there with me. Saying that she’s more excited than I am!

  6. kat 01/06/2010 at 9:25 pm #

    Good luck! My mother lives in Estepona but I have never heard of a safari park…

Leave a Reply

