In praise of postcards

18 May

A postcard is a fascinating little slice of somewhere else landing on your doormat.  I’ve always loved them and have spent many happy hours flicking through boxes at French flea markets, hoping to find something interesting.

So when Zoe, who blogs at the wonderful Playing by the Book said she was organising an international postcard swap I stuck my hand in the air saying “And me miss, can I join in please?”

We were allocated five families to send postcards to in England, Canada, the USA, Australia and Bulgaria.  We carefully chose picture stamps and postcards of London buses.  Eve helped me to write them, I hope the Bulgarians are good at decoding the random utterances of a slightly eccentric English child.  We told them a little bit about our lives, and our favourite things to do, then posted them around the world.

Then, we sat back and waited for our postcards to arrive.  Which they’ve started to do.  We’ve had one from Australia that was in an envelope full of lovely stamps and stickers, one from two boys from Leyland in the UK who’s favourite toy is Lego, one from Toledo, Ohio where they like The Very Hungry Caterpillar, and one from Saskatchewan in Canada.  Which seems to look a lot like East Anglia.

I’ve enjoyed it so much that I’ve decided we are going to send LOTS of postcards when we are away.  I’m going to get the children to choose and send postcards to themselves so they’ll have a fab scrapbook when we get home.  And we’ll send lots of postcards to our friends and family.  Emails are all very well, but there’s nothing quite like a handwritten postcard to prop on the mantlepiece.

8 Responses to “In praise of postcards”

  1. Susie 18/05/2010 at 3:24 pm #

    It really is so nice these days to get real mail.

  2. Mummy Mania 18/05/2010 at 4:47 pm #

    That is a fab idea. I love postcards too – but i remember that on my travels many moons ago, I was sitting in the rain forest and was mesmerised by my surroundings. I wrote myself a letter as I sat there, telling my self about it and reminding myself never to forget how I had felt this day. The posted it home. I read it two years later and still glance at it occassionally. A great idea for the kids.

  3. sandhya 18/05/2010 at 6:15 pm #

    Hi! I have landed here from Zoe’s post. I love the idea of continuing to send postcards whenever one travels to other places. I’m going to do just that now on.
    Here is my post on the postcard swap.

    http://sandhyaryal.blogspot.com/2010/05/international-family-postcard-swap-and.html

  4. Jen 19/05/2010 at 4:41 pm #

    Great post! We’ve been having fun with our swap as well. We weren’t able to get into the international swap, so we are swapping with families in the US. If you’d like another postcard from the states, I’d loves to swap and get a postcard from your family. If interested, email me at loveforlit@comcast.net.
    Here’s my blog-
    http://raisingcreativeandcuriouskids.blogspot.com

    Take Care!
    Jen

  5. whatshappeningatmyhouse 20/05/2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Hi there – you may already know about it, but if not, have a look at http://www.postcrossing.com – it’s a lovely (and educational) thing to do with children, too. I did quite a lot with my son a couple of years ago, and he loved waiting to see where and who the next postcard was going to come from. Caroline x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/05/2010 at 9:43 am #

      Ooh, that looks interesting!

  6. Tzveta 21/05/2010 at 3:11 pm #

    Hello, and thank you for the postcard! We received it some weeks ago.
    All the best!
    Tzveta from Bulgaria

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/05/2010 at 4:02 pm #

      I hope you could read it! My daughter’s writing isn’t the neatest.

Leave a Reply

