How to build a SPLENDID obstacle course

6 May

The theme for Just Vlog It this month is ‘Family Fitness Fun!’.  Now while I try and keep reasonably fit, and I like a good long hike as much as the next person, I wouldn’t say we are the sportiest of families.  You won’t catch me shivering next to a muddy football pitch on a rainy Saturday morning, yelling “come on little Johnny”.  We like our family exercise to be of the more free-flowing, off-the-cuff, spur-of-the-moment type…

22 Responses to “How to build a SPLENDID obstacle course”

  1. Laura 06/05/2010 at 11:04 am #

    I love it. Makes me want to go home and make my own obstacle course … for me.

  2. itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/05/2010 at 11:11 am #

    I might have tried some of it out…

  3. Pants With Names 06/05/2010 at 11:32 am #

    Love it, guess what we are going to be doing this afternoon if the rain holds off… otherwise it will be a case of take one small terraced house front room, scatter objects all over it and ta dah!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/05/2010 at 11:41 am #

      We’ve tried that variation too. Then you can remove all cushions from the sofa and voila, a trampoline!

  4. angelsandurchinsblog 06/05/2010 at 4:10 pm #

    Funnily enough, we’ve just set up an obstacle course in the garden. And the children are faster than me by miles. Didn’t think it would happen this quickly.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/05/2010 at 5:43 pm #

      Aren’t you heavily pregnant? In which case it’s absolutely fine for the children to be beating you!

  5. thelees3 06/05/2010 at 5:48 pm #

    What a great idea for those “I’m bored moments” at home. Your kids are adorable. Thanks so much for supporting Trekaroo’s Spotlight Thursday.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/05/2010 at 7:50 pm #

      you’re welcome, it’s a great idea

  6. Karin @ Cafe Bebe 06/05/2010 at 5:53 pm #

    What a brilliant obstacle course! You all are so creative and what fun you all have together! Do they ever fight?? You’re going to have a brilliant adventure this year…sigh. Thanks for entering this month’s Just Vlog It again! 😉 Fab…

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/05/2010 at 7:52 pm #

      Oh yes they are perfect angels and never argue. And they never watch TV ever and I spend all day thinking up fun and improving activities. Yeah right.

  7. Heather 06/05/2010 at 6:29 pm #

    I went to a conference last weekend where the speaker was the CEO of REI. She actually is working on a movement to do what you are doing. Kids should have fun and just play. We do both the organized sports and free play after school. Keep them moving and happy.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/05/2010 at 7:54 pm #

      Sounds interesting!

  8. Mummy Mania 06/05/2010 at 6:42 pm #

    fantastic. I do something similar if the kids look like they’re about to internally combust – i like the chairs idea though – might try that next time!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 06/05/2010 at 7:55 pm #

      The chairs were my daughter’s idea. I had a go, it was fun!

  9. debi9kids 06/05/2010 at 11:12 pm #

    That looks like such a great (and SUPER affordable) way to have a fun afternoon 🙂

    ps Popped over from Trekaroo

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 07/05/2010 at 9:53 am #

      I’m all for free fun! Who needs expensive electronic gadgets?

  10. Sharlene 07/05/2010 at 12:52 am #

    Thank you so much for participating in the very first Spotlight Thursday. I hope you will join us again next week! Next time would you mind including a link back to Spotlight Thursdays at the end of your post so your readers can see who else is participating and maybe be inspired to join in on the fun as well? http://blog.trekaroo.com/2010/05/06/spotlight-thursdays-national-train-day/

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 07/05/2010 at 9:51 am #

      Of course! I just saw it yesterday on Twitter, so entered this vlog which I’ve done for a competition, but I love the idea so will definitely participate properly in the future.

  11. Linda 08/05/2010 at 11:24 am #

    Now that’s just showing off 🙂

    ***Sulking.

    Bloody brilliant.
    xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 08/05/2010 at 4:41 pm #

      Linda, your comment made me smile. If Have a Lovely Time wins (which I’m sure it will), I shall be proud to say that I have contributed to it in a small way.

      • Linda 08/05/2010 at 7:39 pm #

        Don’t talk bananas. Good day to you and your snazzy new wallpaper.

  12. Belgravia Wife - sort of 10/05/2010 at 5:28 pm #

    I love this obstacle course and I am over the moon to have found your blog – we have conversation most evenings about taking off around the world or setting up home in Costa Rica or somewhere fun.

    Both my my sons have spelling tests tomorrow – historically they do well without any effort which is good – my older son will have ‘exams’ later this term to stream them for next year. His teacher said he is doing really well and will be in the top stream; he also warned me that the other mothers are scarily competitive and all the children are tutored ! I might have rose coloured spectacles but I have no recollection of spelling tests or homework when I was young. We adults know that pressure will come at due course in their lives – why can’t they just much around ? Lovely photos xx

Leave a Reply

