This time in six months

1 May

As I write, it’s just before 6pm on 1st May.  If all goes to plan, this time in six months, we’ll be in the air.  We’ll have stowed the things we don’t need for the flight in the overhead lockers.  Shared out the toys between the children’s seat pockets.  Had a good play on the inflight entertainment system.  Been served a drink and maybe a meal.

All the jobs that I’ve been doing to get ready for the trip will have been done.  We’ll have visas and passports.  Our house will be sorted.  Our five backpacks will be packed with everything we need for nine months.  If anything on my to do list hasn’t been done, it’ll be too late now.  I will finally be able to breathe out and relax.  I know I’ll be a little scared, but mostly I’ll be excited.  Excited at the prospect of a week in Disneyland.  Excited at the thought of a month in Hawaii.  Excited that it’s all finally happening, that we’re making it happen.

Six months will go by very fast.  I can’t wait.

15 Responses to “This time in six months”

  1. scribblingmum 01/05/2010 at 6:20 pm #

    How exciting! It sounds like an amazing adventure, make sure you get the kids a scrapbook or journal each, my mum made us keep them and keeping random things like bus tickets and menus really bring back memories in years to come.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/05/2010 at 6:29 pm #

      I always do that myself, so I’ll definitely get them to do it too. I’m also going to get them to choose and write postcards to themselves everywhere we go.

  2. Susie 01/05/2010 at 6:22 pm #

    I think it is a bit scary and exciting at the same time.
    The thought of getting everything I need for 9 months in one backpack would send me into a fit of sweats lol.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/05/2010 at 6:27 pm #

      I am the Queen of packing light!

  3. mummylimited 01/05/2010 at 6:28 pm #

    I’m excited for you. Can’t wait to read all the amazing posts of your adventures. This post gave me butterflies thinking of you all being on the plane with nine months of travelling ahead of you.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/05/2010 at 8:08 pm #

      Thank you, I’m getting really excited too! Plenty of stuff to take my mind off it in the meantime…

  4. Hayley 01/05/2010 at 7:55 pm #

    I admire you so much! Its an amazing thing you are going to do! Hope you get time to blog during your trip!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/05/2010 at 8:05 pm #

      I will definitely be blogging as we travel! Apart from anything else, it’ll be a great record for us when the trip is over.

  5. Brit In Bosnia 01/05/2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Ooo, we both have a 6 month deadline! As you jet off on your wonderful travels (have I said just how envious I am?) I’ll be having No. 3. As you said, that time is going to FLY!

  6. Erica 02/05/2010 at 8:31 am #

    So excited for you, can’t wait to read all about your adventures.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/05/2010 at 8:01 pm #

      thank you!

  7. Debbie Dubrow 02/05/2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Will you make it up as far north as Seattle?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 02/05/2010 at 7:54 pm #

      No, we’re literally spending one week opposite Disneyland in LA, then heading off to Hawaii. Another time!

  8. Sandy Calico 03/05/2010 at 10:53 pm #

    How exciting! These next six months will fly by. Any chance I could squeeze into your backpack? No, though not! 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/05/2010 at 10:08 am #

      If I had £1 for everyone who’d asked to squeeze into my backpack, I’d have at least enough money to buy a coffee…

Leave a Reply

