Blossom

26 Apr

There are few finer things in the world than a warm spring day when the cherry trees are in bloom.  It’s little wonder that blossom is a Japanese obsession, with the progress of the emerging flowers reported on the national news and cherry blossom parties being held wherever the beautiful trees are to be found.

Sadly we won’t be in Japan at blossom time next year, we will be in steamily hot Thailand, no doubt complaining about the humidity and trying to shelter from the scorching sun.  If I’m feeling homesick, I’ll look at this photo and imagine that I’m back at home, looking out of our bedroom window at my beautiful tree.

13 Responses to “Blossom”

  1. Deer Baby 26/04/2010 at 2:35 pm #

    What a beautiful picture. I adore cherry blossom tress. One of my favourites.

    Like the selective focus/depth of field. Can you tell I’m doing an evening class in photography?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 26/04/2010 at 2:38 pm #

      I can! I did a year long course before I had children.

  2. christinemosler 26/04/2010 at 2:38 pm #

    What a gorgeous photo, I want to put my nose in there and have a good old sniff! x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 26/04/2010 at 2:41 pm #

      I’m not sure that it smells, it’s too pretty, and I’m too short to find out!

  3. TheMadHouse 26/04/2010 at 2:42 pm #

    That picture makes my heart sing, I love spring for all these reasons and more

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 26/04/2010 at 2:43 pm #

      Every year I mean to take photos, and every year I leave it too late and it’s started to go brown before I get around to it. I reckon I got it on the best day of the year today.

  4. Peabee72 26/04/2010 at 2:47 pm #

    Lovely, my cherry is blooming too and it’s just the prettiest thing. I love it when it starts falling – like confetti *runs outside and twirls under the tree* x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/04/2010 at 10:23 am #

      It is so absolutely beautiful isn’t it? It completely makes up for a crappy winter and makes you feel glad to be alive again.

  5. Trish@ Mum's Gone to 26/04/2010 at 5:26 pm #

    I was going to say the same as Deer Baby about the “selective focus/depth of field” but would probably have said “I like that it’s all fuzzy in the background”.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/04/2010 at 10:22 am #

      I’d have still known what you meant!

  6. Heather @notesfromlapland 26/04/2010 at 9:37 pm #

    oh beautiful!

  7. Muddling Along Mummy 26/04/2010 at 9:52 pm #

    They’re great aren’t they – I can’t believe its 4 years since I was in Japan to see the blossom

    p.s. tagged you over at mine … http://www.muddlingalongmummy.com/2010/04/happiness-is.html

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/04/2010 at 9:45 am #

      Wow, you’ve been in Japan for cherry blossom season? I’m jealous!

Leave a Reply

