My Street

31 Mar

We are not travelling to run away, or because something is lacking in our lives (other than sunshine).  We love where we live.  We love our little arts and crafts house with it’s heart cutout banisters and beautiful fireplaces with their built in overmantels.  We love our tree lined street full of families with small children.  We love our local high street with it’s market full of friendly stall holders.  Fruit always taste better when it’s been sold by Ted and Barbara.  We love our children’s school with it’s teachers who dance to the Glee soundtrack and give lessons in den building.  We love that every time we walk down the street we end up chatting to friends until someone’s child starts yelling “stop talking Mummy”.  We will miss all of this while we are away and it will soften the blow of coming home again.

We’d bought our house before we walked through the front door.  It was the cherry tree that sold it to us.  We came to look at it on a rainy May day.  As we huddled in the porch, waiting for the estate agent, we both looked at the beautiful mature cherry tree standing on the pavement in front the house and separately thought “this is where I want to live”.  We were lucky enough to get our wish.  Every April, for two glorious weeks, I wake up to the most beautiful, palest pink, double cherry blossoms outside my bedroom window.  The top picture is the bark of MY tree.  I walk past it countless times every week.  Sometimes, I stop and look at it, and I remember how lucky I am to live where I do.

This post was written for The Gallery over at Sticky Fingers.  This week’s theme is ‘Outside My Front Door’.

35 Responses to “My Street”

  1. Vegemitevix 31/03/2010 at 9:16 am #

    That’s lovely, and funnily enough exactly how it was for me and the kids when we lived in Auckland. It’s those little aspects of community you really miss when you’re away from them. Just think of all the great stories you’ll have to tell them on your return!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 31/03/2010 at 10:28 am #

      It will certainly soften the blow of coming home 🙂

  2. English Mum 31/03/2010 at 10:23 am #

    What a lovely, lovely post. For some reason this made me well up. You big softy, Wallop xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 31/03/2010 at 10:27 am #

      I moved you to tears talking about a tree? I’m good!

  3. audreyhorne 31/03/2010 at 10:27 am #

    Just gorgeous – I could feel the love in this post. It is such a great thing to love the place where you live.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 31/03/2010 at 10:49 am #

      I know, I really do feel very lucky.

  4. Rosie Scribble 31/03/2010 at 10:33 am #

    The teachers dance to the Glee soundtrack? How cool! I like the look of your street and I like the sound of your house. Do you need a housesitter while you’re away?!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 31/03/2010 at 10:47 am #

      As we can rent it out for shockingly large amounts of cash, I’m afraid not. Our five year old’s teacher is possibly the best teacher in the world, she’s fab.

  5. parklover 31/03/2010 at 11:31 am #

    Wow, we will all want to live there now! We fell in love with our house before we’d been it too – even after just seeing a photo we were calling it “our house”. We still loved even when we saw that many of the walls were carbolic soap pink. (They’re not any more!)

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:16 am #

      We still love our house even though the kitchen could be larger and the wind rattles through the windows in winter. Sometimes these things have nothing to do with common sense.

  6. Brighton Mum-Teenage Angst 31/03/2010 at 11:39 am #

    Aw! What a beautiful post! Now I want to live in your house…

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:16 am #

      We do have a large cupboard that the estate agent described as a study. It’s yours for eighty quid a week.

  7. New Mummy 31/03/2010 at 12:30 pm #

    How lovely, I dream of having a house like that, one that I love x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:14 am #

      It’s not a huge house and has it’s disadvantages, but it’s full of character and it definitely feels like home.

  8. MrsW 31/03/2010 at 1:30 pm #

    Well I don;t know where you are but I’d move there tomorrow after reading this… probably have to sell a child tho – probably two…

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:13 am #

      That is the disadvantage of where we live, it’s ruinously expensive

  9. Mummy bear 31/03/2010 at 1:36 pm #

    Wow! it sounds to me like you love your home which is so special…what a beautiful street! Loving the idea of Ted and Barbaras fruit!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:13 am #

      The fruit is pretty ordinary, but it is lovely that the sellers know our children and always stop for a chat.

  10. marisworld 31/03/2010 at 3:12 pm #

    Adorable street you live in and lessons in den building certainly got me interested 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:11 am #

      Itäs a lovely school, there’s always something interesting going on.

  11. whatshappeningatmyhouse 31/03/2010 at 4:54 pm #

    It’s lovely to love your home, isn’t it? I do, too. It’s great to go away, but always equally great to come home, I always say.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:11 am #

      I’m looking forward to my bed!

  12. Keris 31/03/2010 at 5:22 pm #

    What a lovely post. That’s what I want! Where is it you live? (Generally, obviously.)

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:09 am #

      And what’s wrong with London? It’s the finest city in the world I’ll have you know!

  13. Keris 31/03/2010 at 5:24 pm #

    Never mind. Just noticed – London. Pah. 😉

  14. Vinogirl 31/03/2010 at 5:28 pm #

    Lovely, heartfelt post.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:08 am #

      Thanks

  15. cherishedbyme 31/03/2010 at 7:56 pm #

    It does look like a very pretty street.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:08 am #

      Amazing what a difference trees make

  16. newdaynewlesson 31/03/2010 at 8:40 pm #

    Beautiful post. Once again, you are a very good writer!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 9:07 am #

      Thank you, what a lovely thing to say.

  17. Keris Stainton 01/04/2010 at 9:57 am #

    Haha! Nothing’s wrong with London. I lived there for eight years. Just could never ever afford to go back.

  18. Adrenalynn 01/04/2010 at 6:14 pm #

    This was a fantastic post! You’ve managed to make me never want to buy a home that doesn’t make me feel like that the first time I see it. just lovely.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 01/04/2010 at 7:18 pm #

      Thank you. It was a real eureka moment for us. We’d looked at lots of houses and though, yeah, they’d be fine, we could live there. This was the first house that we felt really strongly about. I’d have been gutted if we’d not been able to buy it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blossom « It's a small world after all - 26/04/2010

    […] Sadly we won’t be in Japan at blossom time next year, we will be in steamily hot Thailand, no doubt complaining about the humidity and trying to shelter from the scorching sun.  If I’m feeling homesick, I’ll look at this photo and imagine that I’m back at home, looking out of our bedroom window at my beautiful tree. […]

Leave a Reply

