Globe Trekker

28 Mar

It’s dark outside, middle of the night dark.  Too dark to make out the shape of the fox that’s barking down the street.  It’s also cold.  Pyjamas, dressing gown, socks, don’t keep out the cold.

There is a small child on my lap.  This morning, like hundreds of other similar mornings, I have been dragged from my bed by the small child before the rest of the world is awake.  I am brain numb tired, scratchy eye tired, 5am tired.  It is all I can do to sit without talking, without moving in the dimly lit room.  The only light comes from the TV.  Not CBeebies though.  CBeebies isn’t on this early.  Because small children are supposed to be asleep.  Adults too.

At least I have the Travel Channel, which never sleeps.  And I have Globe Trekker.  Globe Trekker programmes are always interesting, an hour long exploration of a country’s food, customs and natural wonders, they’re absorbing, full of colour and light.  The programmes draw me in, warm me, wake me up.  I sit in the gloom, small child on my lap, and try to forget that my day has started.  For hundreds of days, I sit like this, with first one child and then another.

For hundreds of days I function, I manage, I get by.  For hundreds of days, my world narrows to our kitchen, the common and the playgroup in the church hall.  My previously adventurous self is buried under piles of nappies and overwhelming tiredness.  I become an expert in breastfeeding, weaning, putting babies down for naps.  The me who delighted in the challenge of reading Kanji, who thrived on itinerary planning and map reading, and who viewed life through a camera lens, that me is like another person.  One I used to know.

But.  Despite the relentless exhaustion, an exhaustion I fear will never leave me, the Globe Trekker programmes keep the embers of the old me burning.  They are a highlight of my day, despite being at 5am.  Their presenters can eat snake, take overnight train journeys, swim in turquoise waters, elbow their way through bustling markets and buy perfect souvenirs for me.  If I can’t have sleep, at least I can dream.

This post was written for the Mother of All Trips, ‘Mondays are for Dreaming’ slot.

15 Responses to “Globe Trekker”

  1. angelsandurchinsblog 29/03/2010 at 2:58 pm #

    Not sure I’ll be up quite that early to see Globe Trekker, but I remember the Olympics keeping wanderlust alive the last time I was consistently up before 6am. Funny how 7am starts to seem like a lie-in.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/03/2010 at 7:50 pm #

      It’s on at various times of day…

  2. Trish@ Mum's Gone to 29/03/2010 at 4:57 pm #

    Can’t believe I’ve never watched Globe Trekker – must have a look.
    Be reassured it does get better. My teenage son sleeps so long now that I wander round the house at weekends wondering if I can poke him awake!
    (That was an extremely well-written post , by the way!}

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/03/2010 at 7:48 pm #

      Thank you, and it is better already. It’s been a good year or more since we’ve had such hideously early mornings. And I’ve now trained them to stay in bed, even if they’re awake, without yelling the house down!

  3. New Mummy 29/03/2010 at 5:07 pm #

    Great post hun, must have a look at the programme x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/03/2010 at 7:47 pm #

      thank you, I warn you, it’ll give you serious wanderlust!

  4. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak 29/03/2010 at 5:12 pm #

    I get a lot of those days where I feel like I just function. Next time I’m up that early I shall be checking out Globe Trecker! Better than that Baby First drivel anyway… Saying that I tend to spend my early mornings in Kai’s bed trying to get an extra couple of zzz’s while he bounces on my head.

    Not long till your big adventure now lovely 🙂 That has to keep you going, right? x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/03/2010 at 5:48 pm #

      I’m happy to report that this post was dredged up from the recesses of my brain. It doesn’t represent something that’s happened recently, rather something that used to happen. I haven’t had a 5am start for well over a year. Hope I haven’t just jinxed it…

  5. Deer baby 29/03/2010 at 5:39 pm #

    Beautifully written post, Victoria.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/03/2010 at 5:46 pm #

      Thank you!

  6. Vegemitevix 29/03/2010 at 6:02 pm #

    I remember those mornings…even ten years later! I used to catch this programme about great small hotels around the world, and the travel ones too. Calming. With a baby in my lap happily slurping. This is so beautifully written it brought back those memories for me too! x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 29/03/2010 at 7:46 pm #

      Thank you, it wasn’t a great time, but I also want to remember it, because it was part of the whole experience.

  7. Mara 30/03/2010 at 2:24 am #

    I’ve so been this mother! Ironically enough, I’ve been this mother on the road – when we traveled with my older son for a year while he was one he got up so early every day. I have such bleary memories of sitting in darkness watching something on some TV in a rented house or apartment. And I would be cursing that my overly-ambitious plans for the day were once again surely foiled. Perhaps it would have been better to be at home 🙂

    Glad you’ve come out the other side.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/03/2010 at 12:51 pm #

      Glad to hear I’m not the only one! One of the reasons we wanted to wait until our youngest was 4 was to hopefully avoid TOO many sleep problems while we’re away. Also, not sure I could cope with backpacking with too little sleep.

  8. Randy @thelollipoproad 30/03/2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Globe Trekker totally rocks! This reminds me of our hotel night from hell…kids are a joy!

Leave a Reply

