Heat

10 Mar

I cut a comical figure today. But I don’t feel funny.  I’m wearing woolly leggings and socks under my skirt, a thermal vest, two long sleeved tops, two cardigans, a bobble hat.  We’ve been without hot water and central heating for about 24 hours now and I’m not happy. I don’t mind being ridiculously dressed, but it’s not working and I’m still cold.

I don’t do cold. In another life I was a lizard. I absorb the heat I need to function from the atmosphere.  In winter I need a daily scalding bath to keep my circulation circulating, my bones warm. Without heat, the blood starts to coagulate in my veins, fingers, toes and nose numb, bones ache, brain slows to a stop.  If I’m cold, I can’t sleep.  So I don’t like cold.

I envy warm people, the ones you see laughing, hatless, outdoors in winter.  People who generate their own heat.  People with internal boilers.  Winter sees me bundled into unattractive layer upon layer, woolly hat pulled low over my grey, spotty face, shoulders hunched, walking briskly in an attempt to warm up.  I would not look good in an advert for ski wear.

So for the foreseeable future, I am dreaming of steamy jungles, black sand too hot to walk on, bone dry deserts, shady hammocks on tropical beaches, bath water seas.  And sweating.  Right now, I’d like to be sweating.

I like my life, I really do.  I just wish it was a bit warmer.

This week Josie asked me to “Imagine there is another ‘you’, living in a parallel universe.”

12 Responses to “Heat”

  1. Vegemitevix 10/03/2010 at 4:47 pm #

    I hate the cold. Why on earth did I move to one of the coldest wettest greyest countries on the planet. Good question. If I look at pictures of long hot summers will it make me feel warm?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/03/2010 at 4:52 pm #

      You never know, it might. I don’t know why you moved here either…

  2. Heather Davis 10/03/2010 at 4:54 pm #

    Being cold sucks! Especially when your indoors. Seems like a good excuse to go shopping. The shops are always warm.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/03/2010 at 5:01 pm #

      I am actually currently in a coffee shop, with my coat on. My feet are still cold. I’m pathetic.

  3. Kelly 10/03/2010 at 9:10 pm #

    The hot water bottle is my permanent companion in winter. I used to live in flats and bedsits with little or no heating. The water in the toilet and the toothpaste in the tube froze one winter. I used to sleep with a hat on.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 11/03/2010 at 2:26 pm #

      I slept with a hat on the other night. I have to say it’s made me truly appreciate central heating.

  4. angelsandurchinsblog 10/03/2010 at 10:04 pm #

    So with you. Having a constant battle with husband over the thermostat. Heating off most of the day, and I sometimes find it too hard to type. Funnily enough, he doesn’t work in an unheated office! Where is spring?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 11/03/2010 at 2:24 pm #

      It’s no fun being cold and having to think at the same time is it?

  5. newdaynewlesson 11/03/2010 at 5:16 pm #

    I hat cold as well and here the houses are stone and it is freezing. Sometimes it is warmer outside.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 12/03/2010 at 12:33 am #

      Where are you? My grandparents used to live in the south of France in a stone house that was lovely and cool in summer and cold and damp in winter.

  6. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak 11/03/2010 at 10:02 pm #

    Being cold is probably one of my least favourite things EVER so you’ve had my full sympathy this week. Is it all fixed now? Do I need to come round and give you a warming cuddle?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 12/03/2010 at 12:30 am #

      Yes thankfully it’s fixed. We now have a new fan in our boiler. Our years of paying British Gas Homecare have finally been worth it. Warm cuddles are always welcome.

Leave a Reply

