How to count to 10 in Japanese

9 Mar

I am very much enjoying my new internet teacher of useful facts role, so here is another vlog for Just Vlog It.  Please excuse the lack of brushed hair and general scruffy appearance, but the Director needed to go to bed, so a lengthy session in hair and make up was not possible.

18 Responses to “How to count to 10 in Japanese”

  1. Yuri @ urbanvox HQ 09/03/2010 at 9:32 pm #

    hey… that’s cheating!!! doing 2 videos!! 😛
    LOL!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 09/03/2010 at 9:38 pm #

      You’re just jealous…

  2. Liz (LivingwithKids) 09/03/2010 at 9:37 pm #

    Yes this is one of the few things I remember from my year of doing Japanese as an ‘outside option’ at Uni. I found it incredibly difficult, because we had to learn how to write it, which is not easy at all. Somehow I got through but I think that was because the teacher – Lady Marks, as in M&S, herself Japanese – felt sorry for me.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 09/03/2010 at 9:40 pm #

      Ooh, you were taught by a Japanese Lady Marks. How curious. I did Beethoven’s 9th as my outside option.

  3. angelsandurchinsblog 10/03/2010 at 9:14 am #

    But can you say individual numbers when not saying all ten at once? Sounds very difficult, I’m impressed. And jealous about visiting Japan; I’ve always wanted to go. Yum, sushi…

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/03/2010 at 11:21 am #

      No I can’t, I have to quickly go through them in my head to get to the right one! But I can say delicious, cute, coffee and beer which covers most bases.

  4. peabee72 10/03/2010 at 11:58 am #

    I have retained itchy…what does that say about me?!

    Lovely intro by Eve too 🙂

    Px

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/03/2010 at 4:56 pm #

      It’s all the nits going around…

  5. Crystal Jigsaw 10/03/2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Numbers one and two sounded like “itchy knee” or didn’t I hear you right?!! Whatever I heard, I’m very impressed.

    CJ xx

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 10/03/2010 at 4:55 pm #

      You did hear right, it does sound like itchy knee. That’s how I’ve remembered it for so many years.

  6. Kelly 10/03/2010 at 9:26 pm #

    We learnt that in a NLP course at work. We did actions for each word. Itchy knee was easy to remember!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 11/03/2010 at 2:25 pm #

      What were the other actions?

  7. eggscreamandhoney 24/03/2010 at 1:27 pm #

    I’m impressed. Remembering that since year 2 – fab!

  8. Jendi 24/03/2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Very fun! Japanese is very sing-songy.
    Love the pink outfit on your little girl!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 25/03/2010 at 12:41 pm #

      It’s a kimono that my parents bought her in Japan.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. me « It's a small world after all - 22/03/2010

    […] PS If you REALLY want to know what I look like and find out how to count to ten in Japanese at the same time, look here. […]

  2. A lesson learnt « It's a small world after all - 03/04/2010

    […] 01/04/2010 · 20 Comments I’m going to Japan tomorrow, I’m going to Japan!  I’m more excited than Baldrick would be on finding an extra large turnip.  I’m finally going to Japan!  I’m 28 years old and I’ve been intrigued by Japan for at least 21 of those years, since I met Ashley aged 7.  She had just moved to London after two years spent in Tokyo and taught me how to count to ten in Japanese. […]

  3. A ‘Teach Us Something’ Vlogging Carnival | Notes From Lapland - 19/04/2010

    […] Victoria from It’s A Small world After All evilly took advantage of the fact that we hadn’t thought anyone would want to enter twice (which you can by the way – we made a split second decision that it’s fine) and sent us a wonderful video of her teaching us how to count to ten in Japanese. […]

Leave a Reply

