Mein glücklicher Pfennig

5 Mar

Today is Guest Post Day, as organised by Erica of Little Mummy.  In the thrilling live draw, I was paired with Vic of Glowstars who has written this lovely post about a teenage school trip.

“I want you to have this”, he said as he pressed the small, hard object into the unsure nervous palm of my hand.

Nürnberg, April, 1998. I was standing in the North West corner of Hauptmarkt with Liz and Sarah, just beside der Schöner Brunnen. We were trying to answer questions on a sheet the teachers had given us but weren’t having much luck. To be honest, we were more interested in wandering around taking photos than any sort of work we might have been given. He came almost out of nowhere. Part of me remembers him in shorts, braces and a shirt. Another part of me knows this probably wasn’t true, that he was wearing trousers and a t-shirt, normal just like any one of us. He looked a little like Hans from the movie the ‘Burbs, with that crazy ginger hair and unkempt look.

“I want you to have this”, he said as he pressed the small, hard object into the unsure nervous palm of my hand. “It will bring you luck.” As he walked off I looked down and opened my hand to a small figure of Santa stuck to a one pfennig coin. I put it in my wallet, you could never know…

It never occurred to me why the man knew to speak English. Was it that obvious we were tourists? I never even thought to wonder why he chose me and not one of the others. It could have been anybody who was standing there but it was me.

I carried it everywhere with me, there was a magic to it. When I started doing better in the mountain bike races I put it down to the fact I was carrying that charm with me, never to the fact I was actually training. It was all about that charm. My successes relied upon the presence of those two small items that had been haphazardly glued together, it was easy to attribute them to the charm and I never questioned the failures that happened just as easily when I carried it.

Eventually the coin and the Santa broke apart. The glue couldn’t have been that strong. It kind of lost its magic after that.

To read my post, head over to Glowstars right now…

17 Responses to “Mein glücklicher Pfennig”

  1. Yuri @ urbanvox HQ 05/03/2010 at 9:56 am #

    have I ever seen that coin??????

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/03/2010 at 10:42 am #

      That question’s for you Vic…

    • Vic 05/03/2010 at 10:46 am #

      Nope – it loitered around in my bike’s saddle pack for a while after it broke. Not quite sure what happened to it then…

  2. TheMadHouse 05/03/2010 at 10:23 am #

    This had me thinking about my first romance!!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/03/2010 at 10:42 am #

      ooh, was he German?

      • Vic 05/03/2010 at 10:47 am #

        That could posibly be a whole blog post on it’s own. Will be waiting for that one on the Mad House blog.

  3. becky 05/03/2010 at 12:37 pm #

    My first love was German….so handome….

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/03/2010 at 1:23 pm #

      There.’s a bit of a theme going on here… perhaps someone should host a holiday romance carnival.

    • Vic 05/03/2010 at 1:36 pm #

      as far as I recall, this guy so wasn’t!

  4. peabee72 05/03/2010 at 12:49 pm #

    Love this…random acts of kindness…it’s a post I’ve been writing for a while now and you’ve given me the impetus to finish.

    Just goes to show how far a little faith can go 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/03/2010 at 1:29 pm #

      Funny, but I actually felt that there was something rather sinister about it. I obviously have an overactive imagination!

      • Vic 05/03/2010 at 1:39 pm #

        I think at the time, when the world seemed a safe place for kids and teens (what a difference 12 years makes!), it just seemed weird. If it happened to me now I’d be running for the hills.

  5. Very Bored in Catalunya 05/03/2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Love how your memory has incorrectly placed him in leiderhosen…. Nice story, do you still have the coin & santa, maybe you could reglue to find the magic again.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/03/2010 at 3:24 pm #

      Memory is funny isn’t it? I’m never sure if some of the things I write about really happened or I just think they did.

      • Vic 06/03/2010 at 11:30 am #

        It’s also funny how things you remember so clearly are remembered ina different way by other people.

  6. Heather 05/03/2010 at 9:35 pm #

    it’s funny the gravitas and faith we put in objects rather than ourselves isn’t it?

    • Vic 06/03/2010 at 11:30 am #

      I think sometimes it’s easier to believe that it’s not us doing it, but something else.

Leave a Reply

