Estate Agents

5 Mar

This morning we had an estate agent come round to give us advice about renting our house out.  There’s good news and bad news.

The good news is it’s a lovely house (of course!) which only needs a bit of smartening up on the decoration front.  Considering we’ve not decorated for almost 7 years and have three children under 8, it could have been a lot worse.  The rental market is currently buoyant, with demand outstripping supply.  We’re not suitable for corporate lets because we won’t be away for a full year, but we shouldn’t have too much problem getting a family between moves or professional sharers.   The agents can sort out gas safety certificates, energy efficiency watsits and inventories.  For which, they will charge us 16% in rental and management fees.  Not too bad I suppose, if the other option is leaving the house empty.

The bad news (apart from the 16%) is that our brilliant plan to rent our house furnished is unlikely to work.  Seems not many people are likely to want to use our grubby, beaten up old furniture.  Can’t think why.  We had also, rather brilliantly we thought, decided to store our personal belongings in our big basement room.  Apparently, most people will want to use the room and it will also cause insurance problems, because half the contents will be ours and half theirs.  Which means hiring storage space, removal firms yada yada yada.  Deep breath.  Keep focussed on the beach at the end of it all…

14 Responses to “Estate Agents”

  1. Heather 05/03/2010 at 4:41 pm #

    Focus on that end goal, it’ll all be worth it when you get on that first plane out of the country!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/03/2010 at 9:03 pm #

      I know it will, and actually the estate agent was really helpful, and said that they could do some of the things I thought I’d have to. It’s just the expense and hassle of storage that I’m not keen on.

  2. Brit In Bosnia 05/03/2010 at 8:24 pm #

    The goal, the goal.

    Having gone through exactly the same issue ourselves fairly recently do get in contact if you have any questions.

    Take deep breaths when you discover just how expensive storage is. Take even deeper ones when you discover how expensive their mandatory insurance is. Our storage costs are one of our biggest outgoings each month! PS – you don’t have to use their insurance you can get in somewhere else, ask me if you run into problems.

    I’m going to rack my brains for things I wish I’d known before we left. And then I shall let you know them all!

    PS – sometimes people want part furnished houses, we managed that which allowed us a smaller storage space.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/03/2010 at 9:00 pm #

      Thank you for offering advice, that is really kind. I will definitely be taking you up on that offer when I’m clearer about what we’ll need to do. That’s why blogging’s so marvellous, isn’t it?

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 07/03/2010 at 2:19 pm #

      I forgot to say, the agent did say part furnished renting IS a possibility, it’s just that marketing it as only part furnished would seriously cut down the numbers of people willing to look at it. Most families want to bring their own furniture apparently, so we’ll have to offer both with the likelihood that we’ll rent it empty.

      • Brit In Bosnia 09/03/2010 at 6:14 pm #

        We offered ours up as furnished, part-furnished or unfurnished. Part furnished was what they went with. The only bind is if your tenants want to leave part way through the let – but if you are away for 10 months that is going to be unlikely?

        Do get in touch, I feel like I have a degree in this!

  3. Laura 05/03/2010 at 8:41 pm #

    Think about the beach.

    Are you sure you couldn’t get more in those rucksacks? 😉

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/03/2010 at 8:58 pm #

      I’m not carrying any more stuff, I can tell you that right now. But it has made me even more determined to get rid of as much of our stuff as possible before we leave. I’m not paying to store the crap my children have accumulated under their beds.

  4. Mara 06/03/2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Sending encouraging thoughts. When we went on the road for 13 months we rented our house to some of my husband’s colleagues and put all of our stuff in the basement (our insurance didn’t question this, but perhaps we didn’t tell them either – probably good that the place didn’t burn down!).

    I remember that spring before we left as a time of continuous stress. But the best feeling in the world was when we drove away from it all!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 07/03/2010 at 2:16 pm #

      Thank you for your encouraging thoughts. I suppose in some ways it might be easier to empty house, I could then blow the budget and get someone else to sort it for me. But I already feel stressed at the though of coordinating the removal people to deliver our stuff back at the end of our trip on the day we get back! I really do need to relax…

  5. Liz (LivingwithKids) 07/03/2010 at 10:37 pm #

    Oh Lord, now that is a pain. The Big Yellow Storage Company is not far from this way though – some friends have used it and I think it’s quite reasonable.

    Good news about the rental though x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 09/03/2010 at 11:24 am #

      There’s another place too, near Queenstown Rd, it’s just the added hassle that’s bugging me. Otherwise, I’m sure it’ll be fine and if we can get more money…

  6. Hot Cross Mum 09/03/2010 at 8:53 pm #

    Oh but it will all be SO worth it when you get on that plane!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 09/03/2010 at 9:38 pm #

      it will 🙂

Leave a Reply

