Splendid Bulls

3 Mar


Highland Cattle, originally uploaded by victoria.wallop.

I took this photo on a freezing day at the Suffolk Show last summer. They are rather beautiful don’t you think?

Tara at Sticky Fingers has started a new photo link up. This week, her topic is beauty.

20 Responses to “Splendid Bulls”

  1. angelsandurchinsblog 03/03/2010 at 4:39 pm #

    I wish my hair was as silky looking and gorgeously coloured as that of the beauty on the left!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/03/2010 at 8:44 pm #

      I know, imagine the hours of grooming that went into getting him looking so splendid.

    • Claire 04/03/2010 at 12:46 am #

      Dont we all!!!!

  2. parklover 03/03/2010 at 5:01 pm #

    I love Highland cows, there’s one at Heaton Park a fantastic park near us in Manchester. We used to just call it “big fluffy cow” until I found out the proper name from the picture on a box of M&S shortbread!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/03/2010 at 8:45 pm #

      Gawd bless M&S!

  3. TheMadHouse 03/03/2010 at 5:47 pm #

    I love Bulls and coes but then my FIL is a dairy farmer, Annie at Incessant Ramblings did a cow for her Beauty picture.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/03/2010 at 8:46 pm #

      I shall go and have a look right away…

  4. Heather 03/03/2010 at 7:56 pm #

    oh they really are. The hair looks so silky and soft – what wonderful animals and a great photo!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/03/2010 at 8:45 pm #

      There were whole barns full of beautiful animals, who’d all been preened and primped to within an inch of their lives.

  5. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak 03/03/2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Oh they remind me of my honeymoon! We saw more highland cows than people that week 🙂

    They ARE beautiful. Great photo!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 03/03/2010 at 9:45 pm #

      Reminding people of their honeymoons is a good thing.

  6. Nova 03/03/2010 at 9:53 pm #

    I always wanted Highland cattle in the garden….there is something so cute about them. Great Picture.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/03/2010 at 3:41 pm #

      They are rather gorgeous aren’t they?

  7. littledude's mummy 03/03/2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Wow, you’d have to be super brave to stick girlie ribbons on a head with horns that big!
    Great picture 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/03/2010 at 3:40 pm #

      Some of them looked really hard to control, they had a mean look in their eyes!

  8. Trish@ Mum's Gone to 03/03/2010 at 10:52 pm #

    Fabulous! My son’s hair looks a bit like that at the minute.
    Will have to keep reading your blog as it’s travel-related like mine – though very impressed by your planned trip!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 04/03/2010 at 3:42 pm #

      You’ve travelled fur farther afield with your children than I’ve been brave enough to do so far. I need to have a good poke around your blog too.

  9. Crystal Jigsaw 03/03/2010 at 11:16 pm #

    Yes, they are really beautiful. I adore Highland Cattle.

    CJ xx

  10. Insomniac Mummy 05/03/2010 at 12:31 am #

    Pointless fact – My husband has an irrational fear of cows. I used to take great pleasure in making him walk through fields of them in the Yorkshire Dales. I am slightly evil. 😀

    Those are gorgeous looking cows indeed!

    🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/03/2010 at 10:41 am #

      My husband is also scared of cows, horses, sheep, pretty much any animal bigger than a cat. He claims it isn’t irrational, that if the cow took a dislike to him, he’d do some serious damage. I also goad him when walking through fields!

Leave a Reply

