Gong Hei Fat Choi

26 Feb

“What was your favourite thing about Chinese New Year?” I asked Eve as we travelled back from Soho on Sunday afternoon.

“Nothing was particularly my favourite, I really wanted to watch the dancing dragons, but we could hardly see anything through all those people’s legs.”

“What about the atmosphere, I enjoyed that?”

“What do you mean, atmosphere?”

“Drumming so loud you can feel it in your chest, babies dressed in colourful silk outfits, the warm wheaty smell of steamed buns, reedy flute music playing over the tannoys, busy stalls selling paper dragons and red and gold souvenirs, the popping and sparking of fire crackers, escaped balloons floating up into the clouds, streets festooned with rainbows of paper lanterns.  All of that is atmosphere”

“Oh, yes, my favourite thing was the atmosphere.”

This post is part of Photo Friday at Delicious Baby. For lovely travel pictures, click here

11 Responses to “Gong Hei Fat Choi”

  1. angelsandurchinsblog 26/02/2010 at 11:59 am #

    That is a glorious image, might have to start dressing mine is silk rather than jeans!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/02/2010 at 12:41 pm #

      I know, so much smarter!

  2. TheMadHouse 26/02/2010 at 12:44 pm #

    It is experiances like that which the boys miss out on now we live in the back of beyond!!

  3. Heather 26/02/2010 at 1:00 pm #

    what a wonderful experience. i could feel my excitement growing as I read that descriptive paragraph. i miss things like this so much.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 26/02/2010 at 2:34 pm #

      Thank you Heather and The Mad House, we do try and make the most of living in London, otherwise we might as well move somewhere with more space and better views!

  4. Angela (Travel with a Purpose) 26/02/2010 at 6:38 pm #

    Happy New Year! Love your description of the atmosphere – I can feel those drums!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/02/2010 at 12:42 pm #

      Thank you, there was no big ‘story’ from our day, so I was just trying to convey a feeling.

  5. Amy @ The Q Family 26/02/2010 at 8:00 pm #

    What a beautiful way to describe the atmosphere! My favorite thing about Chinese New Year when I was a kid was the money I received from my relatives. 🙂

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 27/02/2010 at 1:36 pm #

      Our children received money too! One of the banks was handing out red envelopes with one English coin & one Chinese coin.

  6. jackie 27/02/2010 at 5:36 am #

    Oh my, your little recount choked me up a bit. Beautiful.
    : )

  7. Sharlene 27/02/2010 at 7:08 am #

    Absolutely precious!

Leave a Reply

