Visas schmisas

22 Feb

The very helpful Travellers Lounge has a visa guide, which tells you which countries require UK passport holders to obtain visas to enter their country.  These are the countries we are probably visiting:

  1. Australia yes, apply online before entering country
  2. Cambodia yes, purchase on entering country
  3. Japan no, up to 90 days allowed without
  4. Laos yes, 15 day visas can be purchased on arrival
  5. Malaysia no, up to 2 months allowed without
  6. New Zealand no, up to six months allowed without
  7. Singapore no, upto 14 days allowed without
  8. Thailand no, upto 30 days without a visa (we plan to spend longer than 30 days in total in Thailand, so will have to plan our visits to other SEA countries accordingly)
  9. USA no, but need to apply for ESTA before arriving
  10. Vietnam yes, purchased on arrival, you also need to provide passport photos

So I need to sort out Australia and the USA before we leave, all the others to be sorted en route.

10 Responses to “Visas schmisas”

  1. Brit In Bosnia 22/02/2010 at 5:43 pm #

    Hooray for a British passport! Visa applications are a nightmare.

    Just in case you happened to be thinking of a trip to Bosnia it is 90 day visa free tourist travel here too. Do not even thinking of applying for a work visa unless you are certifiably insane – or at least you will be by the end of the process!

    Your journey feels closer just by knowing about the whole visa thing. I can’t wait, you must be so excited.x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 22/02/2010 at 6:43 pm #

      I was really surprised at how few we need to get in advance. We’ll need to take a good stash of photos with us for obtaining them as we enter places. I’ll avoid working in Bosnia thanks. Not sure there are enough hours in my life for the admin!

      • Brit In Bosnia 25/02/2010 at 7:17 pm #

        Take a lot of photo copies of your passports as well. Always helpful.

        • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 26/02/2010 at 11:54 am #

          I now always do that in case we lose one. I learnt my lesson when interrailing with a friend as a teenager. Her passport was stolen on an overnight train from Sicily to Rome and we spent a very frustrating day, and all our money standing in queues at banks and consulates and making calls to Scotland with piles of coins.

  2. Heather 22/02/2010 at 5:55 pm #

    not many to sort out then! It’s all getting closer isn’t it! I feel excited for you just reading this!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 22/02/2010 at 6:45 pm #

      I know, it’s another tick on my to do list! Next stop, estate agents…

  3. Travelling Toddler 22/02/2010 at 8:43 pm #

    Nice post. Me, my partner and our toddler are planning a similar trip in late 2011. So 1 year after you guys 🙂

    I’ll be 27, my partner 23 and our little boy will be 3. It’s great reading another blog talking about the planning stages like us, it will really help. Keep up the good work, and blue skies!

    Matt, Becki & Theo
    travellingtoddler.com

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 23/02/2010 at 12:44 pm #

      Ooh, how exciting, I’ll pop over and have a look at your blog when I have a minute.

  4. Tanya 26/02/2010 at 2:05 am #

    Thats interesting I didnt realise youd have to apply for an Aussie visa! Like a British passport a Kiwi one gets you into a lot of countries (usually for a specific time period) visa free -it does make travel so much easier.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 26/02/2010 at 11:51 am #

      I KNOW! I feel very put out by that. Does the Queen need a visa I wonder? At least they have a whizzy online form these days. Last time I visited I had to stand in a queue for hours.

Leave a Reply

