Splish splash splosh

8 Feb

I’m hot, sticky and tired.  We’ve been walking through the jungle in Northern Queensland for about an hour, stumbling over knotted roots on the surface of the forest floor, brushing past trailing vines and avoiding green biting ants as they munch on foliage overhead.

We hear the rushing of water as we emerge out of the dappled sunlight into a clearing and see a rocky pool at the base of a long, narrow waterfall.  “We’ll stop for a few minutes if you want to swim, but I warn you, it’s cold” says our Crocodile-Dundee-a-like guide.  I considered myself part fish as a child, so it’s an invitation I can’t refuse.

The rocky edge of the pool goes straight down some way, making the water too deep to see to the bottom.  I jump straight in, like an arrow and surface, gasping for breath.  The water is gaspingly, skin numbingly, can’t stay in too long or you’ll drown cold.  I can feel my body seizing up as I try to gulp air into my freezing lungs, but I am hooked.  I’ll never forget my first swim in a natural pool.

Since that day, almost 20 years ago, swimming in an indoor pool has lost its allure and I swim outdoors whenever I can.  We don’t get many opportunities in Britain, although the Serpentine Lido is pretty memorable.  But on a snowy February London day, swimming in Hyde Park or Lake Walensee in Switzerland seems like a distant dream.

This time next year, we will be back in Australia and I can’t wait to plunge into the many beautiful, sandy, clear, sparkling pools that are found across the continent.  Being Australia, humans are not the only creatures which enjoy these natural wonders.  I’ll try to avoid feeding the children to crocodiles.

This post was written for Mara at Mother of All Trips and her ‘Monday’s are for Dreaming’ slot.

11 Responses to “Splish splash splosh”

  1. Emily O 08/02/2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Lovely post, I went to Queensland eight years ago and fell in love with it (despite what other Australians think of Queenslanders!). Would love to go back, how nice to think you’ll be doing that again.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 20/02/2010 at 7:34 pm #

      I loved the very North of Queensland, our guide was a bit of a ‘character’ but it all added to the experience!

  2. Hot Cross Mum 08/02/2010 at 10:29 pm #

    Wow, sounds amazing. Australia holds many, many fond memories for me. I envy you and your impending trip.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 20/02/2010 at 7:33 pm #

      Many memories? Sounds like there are blogs posts to be written…

  3. Kelly 08/02/2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Australia just seems like a world away to me. I cannot see a time that we will ever go, but you never know what happens!

    I have tagged you over at mine http://youfoundkelshidingplace.blogspot.com/2010/02/youre-welcome-meme.html

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 20/02/2010 at 7:34 pm #

      It’s definitely another world, it looks familiar sometimes, but it really isn’t. Thanks for the tag.

  4. Lora 09/02/2010 at 4:41 am #

    I dream of Australia too. Especially when the winter here has lasted for months.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 20/02/2010 at 7:35 pm #

      If it rains (as it has been this summer/winter) I think I’ll cry! I’m so desperate for some good weather.

  5. Zoe @ Playing by the book 09/02/2010 at 9:04 pm #

    I’ve been a lurker for quite a while but just wanted to let you know I’ve linked to your blog today from http://www.playingbythebook.net/2010/02/09/thank-you-to-you/ as I wanted to spread the word about your blog. I know these award things are not everyone’s cup of tea, so please feel free to delete this message. Still, your’s is a great blog, one I love to read (even if it makes me a little jealous 😉 ) and I’d love (even) more people to know about it!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 20/02/2010 at 7:35 pm #

      Thank you very much, what a lovely thing to say!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mummy Bloggers Carnival | Working Mum - 02/03/2010

    […] up is Victoria at It’s a Small World After All with a post about swimming in Australia. Also on the travel theme is Janine at 21st Century Mummy […]

Leave a Reply

