Carsick Carnival, the Sequel

12 Jan

Bored of snow and being cold?  Fed up with the children STILL being off school? Feeling liverish after finishing off the Christmas chocolates last night?  Well you’ve come to the right place, because I’ve collected some of the funniest blog posts this side of winter, and we all know that there’s nothing like a chuckle at someone elses expense to cheer you up.

We’ve generally been quite lucky with out trips since we’ve had children, with no major disasters apart from synchronised travel sickness.  There’s nothing quite like watching two of your children puking simultaneously into airline sickbags, only for the third, then aged aged 18 months, to pick up his bag and start pretending to vomit too.  Well, you wouldn’t want to miss out, would you?

Thankfully, plenty of bloggers have had worse luck than us and come up trumps, providing me with delightful tales of travel woe for our entertainment.  So finish whatever you’re eating first, sit down in a comfy chair by the fire, and enjoy…

Dot, of Ken and Dot, is a Ryan Air survivor.  She travelled on her own with a baby and a toddler.  Urgh, the thought alone makes me need a lie down and some chamomile tea.

More Than Just a Mother sits in a shockingly bad traffic jam with three toddlers and answers a question I’ve always pondered, just how much wee does a nappy hold?

Kelly‘s story of driving home for Christmas in treacherous conditions, whilst in charge of a small creature called Bob, had me on the edge of my seat.  Will they make it on time and in one piece? You’ll have to read it to find out…

Next up is an Australian Christmas camping trip (well, you wouldn’t want to camp in the UK at this time of year, would you?) from The Not Drowning Mother.  She extols the joys of sharing tight spaces with your small children and random assorted strangers.  It’s hard to know who comes off worse.

Daddacool‘s tale from charming Wells Next the Sea reminds us of warm, summer days, and the danger of commenting on children’s bowel habits.  They always get their revenge.

Pippa, of A Mother’s Ramblings, took her family to Disneyland Paris, where they enjoyed the Small World ride I’m glad to note.  Shame the train journey home wasn’t quite as much fun.

The Dotterel racked his brains for a story to tell us, giving us a peek into his personal diaries and in the end comes up with a solution…

Mummy Tips had the kind of trip disaster that makes you wake up in a cold sweat in the middle of the night.  Note to self, always double check all travel arrangements.

When Emily, of Brits in Bosnia, told me in December “We’re currently looking at a 14 hour drive in the snow (so won’t be 14hours) across 6 separate countries. If we don’t have something to contribute from this particular return journey I will personally eat my plastic Christmas tree” I clapped my hands with glee in anticipation of a doozy of a post.  Imagine my disappointment when she returned home to Bosnia after a good journey “… no car sickness, no really bad fights, only drama was an announcement of being ‘desperate for a poo’ just as we entered the Mont Blanc tunnel…interesting but not a total disaster. Their version of desperate for a poo is not in fact really desperate but oh, mummy, I quite fancy at some point in the nearish future poo!”  Obviously I’m pleased for her, but what am I supposed to do with that?  Thankfully, she’s had other, more stressful journey’s, which you can read about here.

The writer of Is There a Plan B? has a two an a half year old and one year old twins.  And she went to Canada for Christmas.  By plane.  Read her post BA0085 – A Survivor’s Tale and feel grateful that you had a week in Bognor.  Although the Canada bit sounded pretty good actually.

Last, but definitely not least, American Airlines have been silly enough to get on the wrong side of Cafe Bebe, a mistake I wouldn’t like to make.  She’s a top Mummy Blogger, doncha know, and when Mummy Bloggers talk, people listen.  I’m happy to say we are not flying with American on our trip.  Phew.

I hope you’ve enjoyed reading these posts, thank you very much to everyone who contributed.  Next year, I’ll probably have a few stories of my own to share…

9 Responses to “Carsick Carnival, the Sequel”

  1. Tim 12/01/2010 at 10:54 am #

    Some great posts there (some I’ve seen, some I’m about to go and read). Thanks for pulling them all together!

  2. Brit In Bosnia 12/01/2010 at 10:59 am #

    Brilliant. Can I say this is car crash reading? A real there but for the grace of god go I. Must remember not to go travelling again in the near future, I feel that I have used up all my good travelling mojos!

  3. Emily O 12/01/2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Love it, I thought long and hard about a post I could come up with for this. But nothing. The reason? We hardly travel anywhere with young children – too much of a headache! Some good posts here.

  4. Not Drowning Mother 13/01/2010 at 9:49 am #

    Thanks for including my post in this great line up. It’s enough to make me never want to leave the house with the kids again!

  5. kenanddot 13/01/2010 at 12:35 pm #

    A friend of mine edited a book on this very theme: How to Fit a Car Seat on a Camel, and Other Misadventures Traveling with Kids, ed. by Sarah Franklin (Seal Press, 2008).

    Anyway, I might go and write a post of my own, since I’m feeling a bit battle-scarred myself after flying to England and back with my baby and two-year-old and no husband this Christmas.

  6. MTJAM 14/01/2010 at 8:02 pm #

    Brilliant collection!
    Yes, I would love you to include my Pampers post, thank you for getting in touch.
    http://morethanjustamother.blogspot.com/2010/01/motorway-tail-backs-and-surprising.html#comments

  7. Kelly 18/01/2010 at 9:06 am #

    Finally got round to reading everything. Great collection of posts, thanks for including me.

  8. kenanddot 18/01/2010 at 6:19 pm #

    Oooh, thanks for linking to my post! Since it was inspired by your round-up but you’ve updated to mention it in the text there is also now a pleasingly circular chicken-or-egg/time-travel effect.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ryanair survivors « Ken and Dot’s Allsorts - 16/01/2010

    […] Jump to Comments Dot writes: It’s a Small World is soothing our Christmas withdrawal by collecting together posts about the joys of travelling with […]

Leave a Reply

