5 highlights of 2009

8 Jan

The lovely Kelly at A Place of My Own has tagged me, asking me to write about my 5 highlights of last year.

2009 was a good year in our family.  No huge revelations or major excitements, but it felt like we finally made it out of the long dark baby tunnel into a new and exciting world of pre-schoolers and school age children.  We got out and about, we ventured abroad, and we washed a lot of pants.  So, without further ado, my first hightlight is…

Getting enough sleep

Many years ago I was a nanny for a brief period, including caring for a newborn baby boy.  He was a ‘good’ baby, who drank his bottles when he was supposed to, slept well and rarely cried.  It was a piece of cake.  So I thought I knew what I was doing when Eve came along.  After about 10 minutes, it became abundantly clear that I was as clueless as every other new mother.  Add in a few sleepless nights and I realised that I had been deeply deluded about caring for newborns.  Nothing, but nothing, is a piece of cake when you don’t get your full eight hours.  I kept thinking, ‘if I could just get four hours, five hours, six hours without being woken, I’ll feel better’.  It took me many months to accept that I would never sleep in the same way again and for the six years that I had newborns, teethers, growth spurters and early wakers I stumbled through the days in a fog of scratchy eyes and memory loss.  2009 was different.  Gradually, without my noticing, all my children started to regularly sleep through the night and regularly wake at about 7am.  I feel different, in a good way.

Starting  a blog

After two years of reading other people’s travel blogs, I finally took the plunge in February last year.  I have enjoyed it more than I could have ever predicted.  It has become an almost daily pleasure, writing, tinkering, thinking about my blog.  It’s re-ignited an old love of words and I hope that one day I can do something more with it.

Our first camping trip

I am a fair weather camper.  I really, really don’t like being cold or wet and I’m not too good at sleeping on the ground.  As we have not been anywhere warm, like Australia, in the last 8 years, the children have never been camping.  Until this summer, when we spent a gorgeous, but perishingly cold night in a field in North Yorkshire.  We splashed in the stream, built a huge, smoky, eye-stinging campfire, toasted marshmallows and told ghost stories.  I hope we can recreate the experience on our trip, but with warmer weather and hammocks.

Switzerland

Last summer we had the most yodellingly fantastic holiday in Switzerland, a country I have always suspected might be right up my street.  Every cliched view I had previously held was blissfully right and we spent two weeks enjoying a soundtrack of clanking cow bells whilst hiking through flower-filled meadows, marvelling at the efficiency of their trains, swimming in lakes with picture postcard backdrops and eating a Matterhorn of cheese and chocolate.  For a rash of posts and some gorgeous photos (if I do say so myself) click on Switzerland in the category cloud on the right.

Catching crabs

2009 was the year I learnt how to catch a crab.  Goodness knows how I’ve survived so long without this knowledge, but I now feel confident in any crab catching situation.  It was a lot of fun.

8 Responses to “5 highlights of 2009”

  1. Dawn/LittleGreenFingers 08/01/2010 at 1:00 pm #

    You must be the first and only person to ever list ‘catching crabs’ as their annual highlight… Having said that I think I’d rather catch crabs than go camping.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 09/01/2010 at 9:48 pm #

      I’m not a fan of campsites, but nothing beats an evening by the campfire.

  2. angelsandurchinsblog 08/01/2010 at 9:07 pm #

    tee hee re catching crabs. Brave – weren’t you scared of those pincers? Bet (s)he tasted amazing, though. Yum.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 09/01/2010 at 9:44 pm #

      We didn’t eat them, which makes the whole thing even stranger! We just caught them and then put them back…

  3. Kelly 09/01/2010 at 3:55 pm #

    I said it on Twitter but you have really inspired me to take a family holiday in Switzerland. I think we will wait a few years but I will look forward to it. Great highlights.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 09/01/2010 at 9:46 pm #

      Please make sure you go to Switzerland, it’s gorgeous.

  4. Paula 10/01/2010 at 3:09 pm #

    2009 was our year as virgin campers too, we began with a family stay at Glastonbury mudfest and capped it off with almost a week in the frozen north (Aviemore). Loved it but did have to cut it short after the temps dipped below what I consider to be acceptable sleeping conditions! Really enjoying your blog, have added you to my blogroll so I can keep up properly…

    Px

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 11/01/2010 at 11:24 am #

      Thank you!

Leave a Reply

