I think it’s really happening…

4 Jan

About two and a half years ago, I had the slightly mad idea of us giving up work, school and house to embark on a round the world trip as a family.  Our estimated departure date, when our youngest child would be four years old, seemed a very long way off.  With children then aged 5, 3 and 1, we were still in the thick of broken nights, bottom wiping, food throwing, lunchtime naps and buggies and it all seemed a bit of a pipe dream that I couldn’t truly imagine pulling off.

But all the while, the thought has been in my head, like a bar of chocolate you know is sitting uneaten in the cupboard.  I’ve read travel blogs while CBeebies entertained the children, I’ve planned packing lists while pushing toddlers on swings, the stack of guide books next to my bed is reaching skyscraper proportions and we’ve talked and talked and talked about where to go, what to do, whether we are brave enough to step on the plane.

More recently, we’ve told family and friends of our plans and I started this blog.  Telling people and writing things down has made it all seem more real, more possible, but sometimes a little like a runaway train that we couldn’t stop, even if we wanted to.

As each month has passed, we’ve reached milestones that are taking us ever closer to our departure.  The baby of the family is now walking, talking and weeing in the loo (mostly).  The middle child is out of nappies at nightime and starting to swim.  The eldest child is reading, telling the time and mastering times tables (very useful for currency conversions).  We’ve survived our first family camping trip, squeezed into a single hotel room for a week, learnt how to catch crabs.  I think we are as ready as we’ll ever be.

The time has now come to book tickets, to put our money where our mouth is.  We’ve spent the last week discussing our itinerary, ‘if we arrive in Hawaii on the 8th and stay for 4 weeks, that means we’ll fly to New Zealand on the 6th’ conversations have peppered the quiet time between Christmas and New Year.  On Wednesday, I’m going to take my scrap of paper with all our dates to Trailfinders, possibly the best travel agent in the world, and see what they come up with.

I’ll let you know.

This post was inspired by Mara at ‘The Mother of All Trips‘ Mondays are for dreaming slot.

18 Responses to “I think it’s really happening…”

  1. Ang (A Mum's survival guide) 04/01/2010 at 4:33 pm #

    how exciting, it’s happening for you. Good luck with everything

  2. Monna McD 04/01/2010 at 5:41 pm #

    Victoria,
    You are making your dream happen. Do it! (And take photos 🙂

  3. Maternal Tales 04/01/2010 at 5:49 pm #

    I am soooooooooooooooooooooo jealous. Have been fantasizing about doing it too. Very, very chuffed for you that it’s finally coming off. Can not wait to hear all about it. Might just have to copy it all! xx

  4. TheMadHouse 04/01/2010 at 5:52 pm #

    How exciting, making it all a reality.

  5. Suki-Lou 04/01/2010 at 7:55 pm #

    How very exciting…we are planning a huge trip too, though ours will be a (hopefully) permanent move to NZ…wishing you lots of luck on your travels & can’t wait to read all about them!

  6. Josie 04/01/2010 at 10:39 pm #

    SOOOOOOOO EXCITED!!!!!!!! It’s really, really happening for you!!!!!!!! xxx

  7. Weston-super-Mum 04/01/2010 at 10:40 pm #

    Wow, this is so exciting. and very inspirational. I love your posts and can’t wait to read ones from far-flung places 🙂
    xx

  8. Kat 04/01/2010 at 11:37 pm #

    Please may I come too?

  9. Carolina 05/01/2010 at 2:35 am #

    Living the dream, I love to read about how others are making it happen. Can’t wait to follow along on your journey.

  10. Mara 05/01/2010 at 4:07 am #

    What a wonderful Monday Dream! The only thing that makes me at all sad is the thought that we’ll miss each other next summer when I’m in England. I can’t wait to read the details as your adventure unfurls. If you change your mind and decide to visit the Philadelphia/Washington DC area, I’d be happy to play tour guide!

  11. Peter Carey 05/01/2010 at 4:11 am #

    Yeah!!! It’s awesome that you’re making this a reality for yourselves!!

  12. Laura 05/01/2010 at 11:01 am #

    I am nearly falling off my chair with excitement. I can’t imagine how you must be feeling.

    I.can’t.wait!

  13. Catharine 05/01/2010 at 12:02 pm #

    It is all so exciting – the planning and, thankfully, the travel will be too! I’m so looking forward to following your travels around the world. Enjoy!

  14. Kelly 05/01/2010 at 12:17 pm #

    OMG i wish i had your courage. This will be such a life changing oppurtunity for you i really hope it all goes to plan and that it is everything you imagine it will be.

    Best of luck to you!

  15. Vic 05/01/2010 at 12:53 pm #

    You’ve got room in one of those backpacks for me, right?

  16. Jess 05/01/2010 at 8:35 pm #

    This is all very well, but what about me? x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 05/01/2010 at 9:02 pm #

      I’m very excited that a real person who I really know has left a comment! We’ll send lots of emails and skype, it’ll just be like a really bad patch when they’ve all got stomach bugs and we can’t meet up for weeks on end. Or you could come with us…

  17. Jess 06/01/2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Not a great time for us to go on adventure but it will be exciting to experience it through you. I really admire you for doing this but I always knew that you would once you had the idea. x

Leave a Reply

