Twinkle twinkle little star

27 Nov

Why did they turn the West End Christmas lights on in early November? I love sparkly stuff as much as the next person (assuming the next person loves sparkly stuff) but I can’t bring myself to think about Christmas before Guy Fawkes night.  Anyway, now we are within spitting distance of December and Dickon is singing ‘Away in the Manger’ to himself on a daily basis, I thought it was about time that I went to have a look before we work out bus routes and wee stops and take the children.  That and we had a babysitter booked to go and see Bright Star, only to find out that it’s not on anywhere closer than Croydon.

First up was Oxford Street, which was too boring to photograph.  I’m a Disney lover (see title of blog), but even I couldn’t get excited about the unimaginative adverts for A Christmas Carol.  Plus, I can’t believe that film is going to better The Muppets Christmas Carol, so why bother?

Regent Street was tasteful but rather dull (see above), with huge stars created with thousands of tiny lights suspended above the street.  You could only tell they were stars as you stood right underneath them, as you looked up the street they looked rather like twinkly dust sheets suspended between the buildings.  I still miss the beautiful, glowing, colour-changing, giant baubles they had a couple of years ago.

Carnaby Street was the most imaginative, but I could see that they might be a bit like Marmite – love ’em or hate ’em.  They’ve gone for a 1970’s theme with giant inflatable pink cartoony reindeer and huge suspended ballons with the words, Love, Peace, and Joy emblazoned on them in swirly, brightly coloured lettering. The ones on the side streets looked magical, floating in the darkness above London’s landmarks.

Whatever I, or any other adult thinks about London’s Christmas lights, I know the children will love them.

7 Responses to “Twinkle twinkle little star”

  1. Josie @Sleep is for the Weak 27/11/2009 at 10:29 pm #

    I remember seeing the Christmas lights in London a few years ago and the experience has stuck with me ever since, it was AMAZING – so different to the rubbish efforts of our small town!

    Love that top photo – fabulous.

    Man, every time I read your blog I want to come to London or go somewhere exciting!!

  2. Helly (Travel by the Calendar) 28/11/2009 at 10:58 am #

    Christmas lights aren’t as big a thing in Australia, it’s summertime and still daylight at nine o’clock. But living in the Northern hemisphere, the longer the Christmas light season the better, otherwise it’s just gloomy old winter. Love the shot of Regent St.

  3. Dominique 28/11/2009 at 4:08 pm #

    We’re waiting for a big light display to go on around here so we can go out and try shooting some photos. You got some nice shots of these decorations.

    I’m with you on the Christmas decorations…too many people seem to put them up way early these days (which was sort of the point of my own post this week). I like the anticipation of waiting for the holiday season to “officially” arrive, which is right after Thanksgiving (fourth Thursday in November here).

  4. Mum's Survival Guide 28/11/2009 at 7:15 pm #

    I’d love to see the lights in London one year, but I never go at the right time.

  5. Amy @ The Q Family 29/11/2009 at 4:58 am #

    I started seeing Christmas decoration in the store right after Halloween! Thankfully, there is no decoration of light till mid November. I guess they are really pushing Christmas earlier so we will spend more. 🙂

  6. Vic 30/11/2009 at 5:08 pm #

    Are you sure you didn’t take some of those pics last year, or the year before, or the one before that? I swear they use the same lights on some strips of Oxford/Regents Streets over and over again.

    I guess they stick the lights up so early to encuorage us all to spend a fortune on our Christmas shopping in November. That way, come December we can all spend a fortune on ourselves in the sales and they’ve won both months.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 30/11/2009 at 6:02 pm #

      The Regent street lights have definitely been used before. I suppose at least they are recycling.

Leave a Reply

