Before we leave the house

24 Oct

“I want to go to the dinosaur museum” says the five year old one Saturday morning.  “I love the dinosaurs and we haven’t been for aaages.”

“Don’t you fancy a quiet morning at home in your jammies?” ask the parents as they looked out of the window at the wind and rain.  “No, dinosaurs, dinosaurs, dinosaurs” chorus the five and three year old, “Please?”.

“OK” agree the parents, “But we’ll have to leave as soon as possible.  The museum opens in 45 minutes and it gets so busy on a Saturday, that it’s no fun for anyone if you are not there as early as possible.  You’ll have to get dressed as quickly as you can.”  “I will” yells the five year old as he rushes off to choose his clothes.

“Well I don’t want to go, I want to stay at home,” says the seven year old with a determined look in her eye.  “We can’t very well leave you at home on your own, and we’ve said we’ll go now, so please go and get dressed” say the parents firmly.  “But I still don’t want to go, it’s the first day of half term and I don’t see why I shouldn’t stay at home.”  “Not even if we go for an ice cream afterwards?” wheedle the parents.  “Suppose” she scowls as she drags herself upstairs.

“I don’t want to get dressed either” parrots the three year old.  “What about the dinosaurs?” ask the parents.  “Oh, OK, I will get dressed, but I’m not wearing those pants.  Those pants are stupid.”

Meanwhile, the five year old has got dressed, cleaned his teeth, put on his shoes and is waiting patiently by the front door.  When no one joins him, he goes upstairs to his bedroom and starts playing with his cars.

The parents come downstairs with the three year old and pack a bag of snacks and spare clothes.  The seven year old eventually reappears and puts her party shoes on.  “Don’t you think you’d be better off wearing your boots?” say the parents.  “Can I take my otter?” she asks.  “Yes, go and get it”.  “Can I take my rabbits?” says the three year old, who can’t bear to be left out.   Up the stairs he goes, reappearing soon afterwards with three chewed rabbits stuffed inside his coat.

“Come on, we’re going!” the parents shout up the stairs to the five year old.  “I don’t want to go to the museum” comes the reply.

7 Responses to “Before we leave the house”

  1. Rosie Scribble 24/10/2009 at 4:59 pm #

    Stress! Suddenly I am relieved to just have one!

  2. Kelly 24/10/2009 at 5:43 pm #

    Ha ha ha ha. That really made me chuckle.

    From your tweet earlier I guess you did go!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 24/10/2009 at 9:31 pm #

      we did make it out eventually, I’ll blog about it later

  3. Mara 24/10/2009 at 6:31 pm #

    Really, it’s amazing anyone with kids every goes anywhere isn’t it?

  4. Josie 24/10/2009 at 9:30 pm #

    Oh I love this!!! Hope you all managed to get out the door in the end, rabbits and otters too, and had a great day together.
    x

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 24/10/2009 at 9:32 pm #

      thanks, I don’t normally do this kind of thing, but thought I’d give it a go!

  5. Sarah V. 26/10/2009 at 8:59 pm #

    Too funny! That’s life with young kids–you have to be willing to go with the flow.

Leave a Reply

