Bambi

23 Oct

DSC_0004

We stood on the sweet chestnut strewn forest floor watching squirrels gather acorns, whilst robins perched on tree branches and blackbirds busied themselves collecting food.  A shy red deer peered at us from a safe distance as we heard a stag bellowing somewhere up the hill.  All that was missing was the Bambi soundtrack.  Where was this sylvan glade?  In London, that’s where, Richmond Park to be precise.  London is a city of many beautiful parks, and Richmond Park is the jewel in the crown. It was once the favourite hunting ground of King Henry VIII and covers over 1,000 acres of ancient woodland so although it is very popular, it never feels busy.

Sadly my photos aren’t of the stunning quality of those in the newly opened Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition.  But I imagine the award winning photographers aren’t usually accompanied by a three year old whose idea of being quiet, is to shout slightly less loudly than usual.

DSC_0032

This post is part of Photo Friday at Delicious Baby. For more lovely travel pictures, click here

Kid Friendly Travel Blog on Raveable

11 Responses to “Bambi”

  1. Amy @ The Q Family 23/10/2009 at 3:31 pm #

    Wow! I would imagine to find a deer in London. That’s great! I’m totally with you on photograph when accompany by children. I wouldn’t be able to take our travel photos if it wasn’t for my husband watching the kids.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 23/10/2009 at 4:51 pm #

      There are about 650 deer in Richmond park. It’s a big place!

  2. Rosie Scribble 23/10/2009 at 4:38 pm #

    The deer is beautiful. I love Richmond Park, in fact I love the whole of Richmond, particularly having a drink down by the river. Happy days.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 23/10/2009 at 4:51 pm #

      peaceful drinks down by the river are no longer quite so peaceful…

  3. Glennia /The Silent I 23/10/2009 at 6:02 pm #

    I think you managed to get two lovely pictures, despite the distraction. I particularly like the light falling on the plants in the first one and Bambi in the shadows!

  4. Sharlene 23/10/2009 at 9:29 pm #

    I great urban park is such a fantastic find. Its such a wonderful escape

  5. Dominique 24/10/2009 at 4:09 pm #

    Hard to imagine this park is right in London. Great photos that capture a serene afternoon trip to the park 🙂

    Did you go to the BBC Wildlife Photographer of the Year show? Isn’t it a great photo exhibit?
    We’ve been several years during its stop at the Detroit Zoo…one of just two stops for this show in North America…and, yes, we bought the books, and I blogged about it a couple of times (once on my own blog http://www.midwestguest.com/2009/01/bbc-wildlife-photographer-of-the-year-exhibit-at-the-detroit-zoo.html and once on a community blog for a group of apartment buildings here that I work for as a staff blogger).

    Great place to go for inspiration, but my photos never come close to measuring up to the beautiful work in these shows.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 25/10/2009 at 11:41 am #

      I haven’t been yet this year, it only opened this week. Many years ago I had the pleasure of working at the Natural History Museum on the publicity for it, which I still look back on fondly as one of my favourite jobs. It is unfailingly stunning and I’m sure we’ll be going at some point.

  6. Lorraine 25/10/2009 at 5:57 am #

    I could lose myself in this wonderful park (preferably somewhere the kids couldn’t find me for 10 minutes!). I like your reference of King Henry…it conjures up imagery of the olden days.

  7. Marina K Villatoro 27/10/2009 at 4:03 pm #

    That park looks like the perfect place to relax and leave the world behind… I would love to go some time 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Underground, overground, wombling free « It's a small world after all - 20/11/2009

    […] such fabulous parks.  I’ve written before about Henry VIII’s favourite hunting ground, Richmond Park, and the gorgeous Lido in Hyde Park but we also have many, many less well known open spaces, most […]

Leave a Reply

