The Car Sick Carnival

21 Oct

peeing at the station

There’s no doubt that travelling with children is a marvellous, life enhancing experience, but there’s also no doubt it brings with it more than the normal number of bodily fluid related incidents and other disasters.  Talking about poo and other yuckiness is a parenting right of passage, so it’s no surprise that some of my favourite bloggers have written such eloquent travel horror stories.  So sit back, relax, and enjoy the ride.  You might want to finish what you’re eating first.

First up is Emily at Maternal tales, who was my introduction to the art (yes, art) of bodily fluid blogging with this very post.  This is one of my favourite ever potty training disaster stories, which I tell to all and sundry.  Whether they want to hear it or not.

Next, we have More Than Just a Mother’s post about a family holiday with more than one incident of car sickness and a punchline I wasn’t expecting!

Insomniac Mummy’s tale is a short but sweet story of driving woe, with screaming involved.  We’ve all been there!

Then we have Travels with my baby’s story of a cultural day out in London and a salutory lesson about the perils of travelling light.

The Not Drowning Mother’s story is about the kind of car journey we all dread.  The kind of car journey that makes parents never want to leave the house with their children again.  There’s no sick involved, just a curry and a greasy pie.

Next is Tara of Sticky Fingers with a story entitled ‘Wee wee wee all the way home’.  It does exactly what it says on the tin.

Then we have a hilarious post by Hot Cross Mum, which had Steve and I laughing so hard we almost weed ourselves.  Which would have been preferable to what happened to Hot Cross Mum.

Now for a drumroll for the winner of the worst holiday ever… the unfortunate Linda of You’ve Got Your Hands Full, who managed to squeeze a trip to casualty into her tale of holiday woe.  We can’t all say that, so well done!

If you’ve read all these posts and survived you must have a stomach of iron.  Please do have a look around the rest of my blog and if you like what you see, you can join my small but select band of subcribers, by clicking here Subscribe in a reader.  I will love you forever.  Or for a little while, anyway.

14 Responses to “The Car Sick Carnival”

  1. English Mum 21/10/2009 at 9:40 am #

    Have spent a happy morning laughing my *rse off at all these stories. Congrats everyone: epic carnival! x

  2. Hot Cross Mum 21/10/2009 at 10:11 am #

    Well done to you! Will refresh my coffee cup and prepare to splurt it all over the screen with laughter. Why is it that the nastier side of parenting is always the funniest?!!!! Hurrah for the car sick carnival – this should become an annual event!

  3. notsuchayummymummy 21/10/2009 at 11:00 am #

    Brilliant, just brilliant. I have done no work but had a thoroughly enjoyable morning. Thanks!

  4. Maternal Tales 21/10/2009 at 11:04 am #

    Ooh well done you – how exciting! Shall read all the others with glee. And btw, have also subscribed (just cos it’s you) – you’re on my blog roll anyway and that’s normally how I read posts. XXX

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 23/10/2009 at 4:46 pm #

      Thank you for subscribing! I hardly have any, which I know doesn’t really matter, but it’s nice to see the little graph gradually creeping up!

  5. Kelly 21/10/2009 at 12:32 pm #

    Yep, you were right, I am never getting in a car or going on holiday with Piran. Until he is a teenager, at the very least.

  6. travelswithmybaby 21/10/2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Thanks so much for including me – and this list is the funniest lot of blog entries I have read in ages. I shall be sending the link on to every parent I know (but not to the non-parents; might put them off for life!!)

  7. Linda 21/10/2009 at 7:38 pm #

    Oh there are some great posts here and thank you for such a worthy accolade. This certainly was our worst holiday and all because of sick, poo and broken bones! Funnily enough haven’t posted it at http://www.havealovelytime.com – cos um it wasn’t one.
    I really enjoyed the other posts and hope I can drop by and comment on all of them, thank you for including me. We are flying later this week and having read HCM’s post am now quite scared!
    x

  8. Aquin 25/10/2009 at 11:56 am #

    This is just hilarious. I was glued – honestly consider making this a weekly or monthly post. While in Russia, our toddler threw up in a mini-bus with 12 others suffering the smell and mess. The river was kind enough to drop us off at our hotel rather than throw us out in the middle of the road.

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 25/10/2009 at 8:50 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed it, maybe I will hold another one soon, as you’re not the only person who’s got a story I didn’t include!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Long Journey Home « Not Drowning, Mothering. - 21/10/2009

    […] post appears as part of the Car Sick Carnival over on “It’s A Small World After All”. I suggest you swing by there for more […]

  2. uberVU - social comments - 22/10/2009

    Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by LauraAWNTYM: Check out the car sick carnival from @vwallop http://wp.me/psaAB-it … the flying poo … Oh, the flying poo…

  3. Even more fun than Eurovision « It's a small world after all - 29/05/2010

    […] had a marvellous time laughing at your expense with the Car Sick Carnival.  Now it’s your turn.  I shall chronicle every jet lag nightmare, overnight train journey […]

  4. Carsick stories | Ewomencleanse - 07/09/2012

    […] The Car Sick Carnival « It’s a small world after allOct 21, 2009 … This is one of my favourite ever potty training disaster stories, which I tell … than one incident of car sickness and a punchline I wasn’t expecting! […]

Leave a Reply

