Not better, not worse, just different

18 Sep

CNV00006

When we visited Japan ten years ago, we didn’t have children.  We had the most fabulous holiday visiting temples, hiking, being amazed by Tokyo’s sheer verve and whiling away evenings in cosy izakaya’s (Japan’s answer to the pub).  When I came across this picture I took of an izakaya one evening, it got me thinking about the differences between travel with and without children.  On our next trip to Japan, I doubt we’ll be whiling away many evenings in tiny, smoky bars, with drunken salarymen for company.  But I’m sure we’ll discover things that we wouldn’t have dreamt of on our last trip.

In Switzerland our ‘evenings out’ consisted of a rosti with cheese and egg in the town square cafe at 6pm, with the children running about playing with their water pistols.  I would have loved to visit a cosy wood panelled bar for a beer later on, but it wasn’t to be.  On the other hand, I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have learnt the German for pirate ship (Piratenschiff, incase you’re wondering) if I hadn’t been with my boys, and I would certainly have missed out on the most scenic playgrounds in the world, talking to grannies, stroking cows, goats and dogs, amazing swimming pools and visiting Chur’s beautiful natural history museum.

Like everything else to do with parenthood, travelling with children will never be the same as travelling without them.   But I know that exploring the world with them will be an adventure.  I wonder what the Japanese is for pirate ship?

This post is part of Photo Friday at Delicious Baby. For more lovely travel pictures, click here

12 Responses to “Not better, not worse, just different”

  1. Jen@TwoKidsandaMap 18/09/2009 at 4:21 pm #

    Oh so true…our evenings before the S’s were spent at hip night clubs, fancy wine bars and quiet restaurants. Now that we have kids, we are stopping at fun grocery stores to check out the candy aisle and pick up a bottle of wine for after the kiddies go to bed. Not more or less fun, just a different kind of fun!

  2. Amy @ The Q Family 18/09/2009 at 7:15 pm #

    Great post. I agree that trip pre-kids and post-kids are different but it was in a good way. For us, we are not much of the late-night, party type people to begin with. I remembered one New Year Eve party we went before kids, we almost didn’t make it till midnight. 🙂

  3. Brandy Thomas 18/09/2009 at 7:21 pm #

    This is a great post! Great insight on parenting life… You would never be able to live without them once you have them but its always interesting to think about what things may have been without them!

  4. Kymri 19/09/2009 at 12:02 am #

    It is great to return to a place with a kid and see it brand new again through their eyes!

  5. Dominique 19/09/2009 at 5:12 am #

    Beautiful shot, though. It really looks quite peaceful for a pub!

  6. Lori Phipps 19/09/2009 at 10:57 am #

    This is a great post. I also liked your travel pictures.

  7. Carolina 19/09/2009 at 9:34 pm #

    That’s one cool pub. And your thoughts on traveling with kids are right on, I agree.

  8. jessiev 20/09/2009 at 5:05 pm #

    what fun! i love traveling with our daughter – it makes life so much richer.

  9. Sharlene 20/09/2009 at 5:50 pm #

    I loved this post. Seeing the world through a child’s gives us perspective that we might never otherwise have.

  10. marina villatoro 20/09/2009 at 8:38 pm #

    That’s what I say, it’s sooo different travleing with children, but I actaully find it more enjoyable now. even though we can’t see as much becasue he gets bored quickly, I feel we see more!

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 21/09/2009 at 2:01 pm #

      Yes, it’s definitely a quick whizz through museums these days!

  11. Bridget Smith 22/09/2009 at 1:04 am #

    This post is lovely and very true. I think that challenge of traveling with children is to find ways to enjoy what you can, and this leads to some wonderful new discoveries. I do, however absolutely adore getaways with my husband. It is fun to do some grownup travel, especially when it comes to eating out!

Leave a Reply

