Gnomes of Zurich

21 Aug

Switzerland is as stunningly beautiful as the tourist brochures suggest and we have been enjoying noticing all the differences between here and Britain. Some things aren’t so very different though. The Swiss are as keen, if not keener, than us about gardening, with every house sporting magnificent window boxes, neat rows of vegetables, apple trees and lots of gnomes. This incredibly design conscious nation apparently has the odd lapse in taste.

Appenzeller gnomes

10 Responses to “Gnomes of Zurich”

  1. Jen@TwoKidsandaMap 21/08/2009 at 5:47 pm #

    That is hilarious!

  2. jessiev 21/08/2009 at 6:48 pm #

    i love these gnomes, esp the swim trunks one on the front. what a hoot!

  3. Tim 21/08/2009 at 7:14 pm #

    Very cool. Scary in a (good) way!

  4. Wanderluster 21/08/2009 at 7:42 pm #

    How big are those? They look tiny but I’m thinking maybe they belong in a garden?

    When I saw the related link below it (Swiss Cheese) all I could think was “Cheesy” 🙂

  5. marina villatoro 22/08/2009 at 2:23 am #

    My brother just came back from that area, and was telling me all about the obsession with these little creatures. Weird huh!

  6. Kelly 22/08/2009 at 12:28 pm #

    Oh I love gnomes. Perhaps I have Swiss ancestors? I have two in my garden who are actually completely legless (literally) and propped up against the tree but I cannot bear to throw them away!

  7. Littlemummy 23/08/2009 at 9:21 am #

    You’re the second person this summer to rave about Switzerland, need to plan a visit soon. Nothing wrong with the odd gnome 🙂

  8. Lorraine 23/08/2009 at 9:36 am #

    Oh man. I secretly covet these red-hat-smurfs for my own garden. If I traveled to Switzerland, I guess I’d have quite a heavy bag coming back!

  9. Dominique 24/08/2009 at 6:10 am #

    This reminds me of a couple of photos I posted last Thanksgiving…photos of lots of little ceramic Pilgrims taken at a souvenir shop in Plymouth, MA (quite near Plymouth Rock).
    This photo gives me the same sort of chuckle!

  10. A Modern Mother 24/08/2009 at 5:13 pm #

    Cute gnomes. I love Switzerland, my grandmother is from Ticino.

Leave a Reply

