The 8 things tag

11 Jul

Karen at The Rubbish Diet is being very nosey and has asked me to talk all about myself today.

8 Things I’m looking forward to

  • The school holidays – spending time with my little girl and not having to nag in the mornings
  • Our holiday in Switzerland in August – hiking, chocolate and Heidi
  • Visiting my sister in law in North Yorkshire – paddling in streams and walking on the moors
  • Visting the butterfly garden at the Natural History Museum
  • Making use of our new YHA card
  • Our new kitchen being fitted
  • Our Round the World trip
  • A lie-in on Sunday

8 Things I did yesterday

  • Took boys to the library
  • Put books on my new shelves
  • Made a boat out of cardboard box shelf came in
  • Tidied up the million tiny pieces of polystyrene that also packaged the book cases grrr
  • Went to daughter’s open dance class
  • Had a friend and her son over for a coffee and play
  • Finished a biography of Queen Victoria
  • Watched Flight of the Conchords

8 Things I wish I could do

  • Bring an end to poverty, abuse, war and global warming (I copied this one from Karen, but only because it’s a goodie!).
  • Make use of my Learn Thai CD and actually learn Thai
  • Persuade my two year old to stop peeing in his pants
  • Persuade my four year old that 6.15 is NOT morning
  • Become fitter and lose weight, both to feel better and to make carrying a heavy backpack easier
  • Live nearer to my best friend Ally
  • Live in a house with a massive garden (without moving)
  • Lie on a tropical beach

8 Favourite fruits

  • English apples in season, Discovery are maybe my favourite
  • Alphonso mangoes or any other Indian or Pakistani mango
  • Strawberries, especially wild or Alpine ones
  • Raspberries, my mother’s favourite
  • Blueberries, the children can eat these by the bucket load
  • Apricots – aged about 10 I ate so many for breakfast I spent the rest of morning in very primitive French long drop
  •  White peaches – like we used to have in Provence when I was a child
  • Cherries, their short season makes them all the more special

8 Places I’d like to travel (I’m only including places I haven’t been to yet)

  • Vietnam, we have some fab Vietnamese restaurants in London and I can’t wait to try the real thing
  • Portugal
  • Scandinavia
  • Southern India
  • Hawaii, I hope it’s like in Elvis films
  • Cambodia, to visit Ankor Wat.  It’s a cliche, but cliches usually become cliches for a reason
  • Laos
  • Easter Island

8 Places I’ve lived (I’m afraid I can’t mange 8 on this one)

  • Paulton Street, just off the King’s Road in London, until I was 1
  • Tregunter Road, Earl’s Court, London, from shortly after my first birthday until I left home.  Bigger house, less classy neighbourhood.  Happy memories of cycling round to friends houses and making dens in the garden.
  • Various dodgy student houses in Southampton, too manky to list individually
  • Beaufort Street, London, also just off the King’s Road.  Where our oldest child lived for the first year of her life.
  • Near Clapham Common.  Bigger house, less classy neighbourhood.  I’m sensing a theme here…

8 Lovely people I’m tagging.  They are almost all fellow Tweeters

9 Responses to “The 8 things tag”

  1. Brit in Bosnia 11/07/2009 at 6:31 pm #

    Thanks for the tag – the round the world trip sounds amazing. Drop in if you are coming anywhere near Bosnia! I’m also with you on the mango front and apologies for being a non tweeting person… just can’t facing learning how to do it!

  2. OMG We're Pregnant 11/07/2009 at 7:57 pm #

    Thanks for the tag!

    I’ve had some good parties at dodgy skanky student houses in Southampton!!

    The round the world trip sounds divine! Lucky you 🙂 xx

  3. Brit in Bosnia 11/07/2009 at 8:49 pm #

    Just realised that I’ve done this one already so may have to sit this one out…
    http://britsinbosnia.blogspot.com/2009/06/more-memes.html

    • itsasmallworldafterallfamily 11/07/2009 at 8:59 pm #

      I wish I’d thought of coffee!

  4. Dancinfairy 12/07/2009 at 2:49 pm #

    I have also done this one before!

    http://youfoundkelshidingplace.blogspot.com/2009/06/im-it.html

    Hmmm, have to think of something else to do instead. I’ll be back!

  5. Almost Mrs Average 13/07/2009 at 10:52 am #

    oooh you’ve lived in Chelsa, how lovely. Is that house with the birds still there? Not sure of the name of the road, but it’s north of King’s Road en route to the Conran Shop. I remember walking past and saw lots of tropical birds on the balcony.

    I’d love to know where you’re going in Switzerland. We’re off there in August too, visiting Leysin in the Alps first, on the way to the Italian speaking part. 😀

  6. Dancinfairy 14/07/2009 at 10:16 am #

    Said I would be back. Have tagged you on my blog:

    http://youfoundkelshidingplace.blogspot.com/2009/07/photo-tag.html

  7. Dulwich Divorcee 14/07/2009 at 1:09 pm #

    Oooh, I do love a tag. Do I have to say that 8 times, I wonder?! x

  8. leonieg 22/07/2009 at 11:52 am #

    Hi, I just wanted to say that I enjoyed your 8 things tag, I’ve got to agree that there are some lovely vietnamese restaurants in London, I was wondering if you’d ever written a review on any of those which you’ve visited as there’s a competition being run by Gekko (http://gekko.com) which requires you to review restaurants that you have visited, the prize is to become a food critic for a month, with four free meals for two at the best restaurants in your area. To enter, all you need to do is sign up to Gekko (it’s a bit like facebook) and review a hotel or restaurant. If you do this, you are automatically entered into the draw to become a food critic for the month! More details about the competition can be found at the Gekko Blog. Its a fab deal and it gives you the chance to eat great food for free!

Leave a Reply

